Seven Authors I’m Thankful For

I noticed that people participating in the Top Ten Tuesday meme are making lists of authors and books they’re thankful for in honor of Thanksgiving this year. While I’m currently not participating in the meme* I thought it was a good idea. So, without further ado, Authors I’m Thankful For:

the truth about forever

Sarah Dessen: She’s one of my favorite authors and was one of the big forces that got me into the Young Adult genre while I was in middle school. I love her books and will continue reading them until she stops writing them.

Stephenie Meyer: I know what some people are probably thinking as they read this. I do like The Twilight Saga, but it’s not the reason Stephenie Meyer is on the list. For some reason while I was reading the series for the first time I had an overwhelming urge to write, something I had been lacking motivation to do. It still makes me want to write therefore I’m still thankful for it and her.

Mark Twain: Mark Twain wrote a wonderful essay called The Lowest Animal and I absolutely adore it. That alone is the reason he is on this right now. Never mind all of his highly acclaimed novels.

William Shakespeare: Call me pretentious, but I love Shakespeare. He was the first author (technically playwright) I read who showed me that you can make anything sound good if you choose the right combination of words.

Stephanie Perkins: When I read Anna and the French Kiss I quickly fell in love with it. Reading it also helped me get through an unwanted trip I was on, which is why I’m grateful for Stephanie Perkins.

sylvia plath

Sylvia Plath: I’m not the hugest fan of poetry, even Sylvia Plath, though there are a select few. Those select few poems and her book (The Bell Jar) win her a spot on my thankful list. I wish she had written more.

Judy Blume: My first favorite book EVER was The Pain and the Great One by Judy Blume. As if that’s not a good enough reason for her to be on this list there’s also the books she wrote for growing girls that tackle tender and difficult topics that may be difficult to talk about. Also, Superfudge.

*I’m thinking about getting started up with the Top Ten Tuesday meme.
3 thoughts on “Seven Authors I’m Thankful For

  1. Just Listen is one of my favorites by Sarah Dessen, along with The Truth About Forever. I actually haven't read any of Maggie Stiefvater's books. My sister has Shiver, though, and I've been thinking about reading it.

Let's chat!

