Top Ten Tuesday (2): New-to-Me Authors of 2012

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish to facilitate list sharing. This week’s topic:

Top 10 New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2012:

(In no real order)

anna and the french kiss
  1. John Green: I know. I know… I’m so late to everything. I read Looking for Alaska in January and loved it, then started reading his other books. It’s weird because I watched his videos occasionally. I just didn’t read his novels. Oh, well. Better late than never, right? (I just noticed I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson in mid-2011. Oopsies.)
  2. Stephanie Perkins: I discovered the wonderfulness that is Anna and the French Kiss because I needed something to read while on vacation. I LOOOVED it and really want to get my paws on more stuff by Miss Perkins. (I read Lola and the Boy Next Door, too. By “more stuff” I mean the third book in the companionship.)
  3. wintergirls
  4. Laurie Halse Anderson: I actually think I read Speak when I was in my early teens, but I can’t remember so on the list Laurie Halse Anderson goes. I read Wintergirls (finally!) not too long ago and loved it. So good.
  5. Gayle Forman: Oh, Mia. Oh, Adam! Oh, oh, oh.
  6. Sarah Ockler: I saw Twenty Boy Summer at the library and picked it up because I thought the cover was interesting. I haven’t read anything more by Sarah Ockler, but I’m definitely planning on it.
  7. Nina LaCour: I know Nina LaCour’s first novel was Hold Still but I was introduced to her by The Disenchantments and then I read Hold Still. Both are very good books that I absolutely recommend.
  8. the disenchantments
  9. Lauren Oliver: I heard people talk and talk and talk about Before I Fall until I finally cracked and just read the book. I liked it and am planning on reading her Delirium series sometime in the near-ish future.
  10. Jay Asher: My sister-in-law kept talking about Thirteen Reasons Why being suchanamazingbook!, so of course I obtained a copy and got reading.
  11. Cassandra Clare: If you read my blog you know how recently I started reading Cassandra Clare’s work. And also how much I like Clockwork Angel.
  12. Suzanne Collins: The Hunger Games. That’s all.
18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (2): New-to-Me Authors of 2012

  1. I definitely recommend both of them. I really liked Looking for Alaska. In my opinion it's the best of the books I've read by John Green. Then again, I haven't read The Fault in Our Stars yet and everyone says that's his best one. I guess we'll see, right?Have a good day! (:

  2. Woohoo! I loved Stephanie Perkins's books. I'm excited for more by her.I'm interested in Just One Day, though admittedly I'm not sure what it's even about. A lot of people are talking about it though.

Let's chat!

