Review: Snowed Over – Angie Stanton

Holiday Review!!

snowed overTitle: Snowed Over
Author: Angie Stanton
Published: October 12, 2012
Opening Sentence: “Each gust of wind shot tiny shards of sleet at Katie Brandt’s already frozen face.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

To college student, Katie Brandt, ‘Home for the Holidays’ sounds like hell. When her parents separated, their holiday traditions shattered like a dropped ornament. What could be worse than celebrating Christmas with her suddenly single mom and mom’s new boyfriend?

Alex Walker, an engaged 20-year-old, dreads going home for his own reasons. He has a daunting task ahead of him and wishes he could skip the holidays altogether. So when a friend of a friend needs a ride north, Alex finds that having beautiful Katie seated by his side proves to be just the distraction he needs.

A simple ride home for Christmas turns into a nightmare when light snow rages into a full-scale blizzard. Katie and Alex find themselves stranded, and a vacant cabin becomes a haven from the storm.
Under different circumstances, time alone with Alex would be the ultimate Christmas gift, but Katie knows Alex is engaged and she must hide her growing attraction.

However, Alex harbors a secret that just might change this holiday from the worst Christmas ever, to the best.

Okay, I need to keep reminding myself this book was supposed to be a light, fun, cute Christmas romance. It was. It was super cute, but it was so shallow. Maybe “shallow” is too strong of a word, but I definitely felt like this was a quick write, quick read, and low substance kind of deal. As my first experience with the “New Adult” genre I’m not very impressed. I won’t judge the whole genre on one experience, though.

It’s a common story, actually. There are two people who don’t know each other very well put together for some reason (like carpooling to a common place, as is the case in Snowed Over). One is generally inferior to the other in the form of “perfect” vs. average. The perfect person is, of course, in an engagement they want to get out of or realize they want to get out of when they fall madly in love with said average person they’re with. Et cetera, et cetera… I think you get my point.

What was with the main characters being faultless? I felt like the only things that were wrong with them were outside forces, e.g. negligent mothers and despicable fiancés. The mother and fiancé in question were realer than the main characters. I read somewhere someone was saying they were totally unrealistic and “no mother would do that” and “the jealous girlfriend was a little much”. Perhaps that person has never been around crazy people, but it’s more realistic than I hope they ever have to deal with. Just as a side note.

As a whole I wasn’t very impressed with all the nitty-gritties within this novella, but at the end of the day I did read it in one sitting and enjoyed it. It was cute as you expect a lighthearted holiday story to be. I don’t think anyone really goes into this type of thing hoping for something super in depth with a really detailed subplot and characters. No, they go into it wanting love and kissing and a happy ending. This story supplied all of that, therefore, it gets three stars. I will say, though, that if it had been a full novel with the above bad points, the star level would be lower.

Again, I enjoyed it as a novella to warm my heart. (Nothing more, though! I have to be a stickler about that.)

Rating: 3 of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: Snowed Over – Angie Stanton

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t really love this one. The thing is, I was expecting a cute Christmas novella with no real huge depth to it, and yet I was still a bit disappointed. Even if the plot is cheesy and predictable (which I was actually fine with, I WANTED a plot like that when I bought this one), I wanted the characters to be people I was cheering for and liking… and I just wasn’t. The girl felt all bad about herself for no real reason, and the guy was represented as “perfect”… and yet he seemed spineless to me, considering he couldn’t even tell his fiancee what he really wanted.

    1. Yeah, I feel the same way. The characters were just so-so, which is unfortunate since they run the show. I feel like maybe if the two main characters were spliced together somehow we would have gotten one good character.

      In regards to the guy specifically: I feel the same way. He was just spineless. In the book it was spun as him being noble to stay with her even though he wasn’t happy. I mean, I guess it was noble when she was pregnant (I guess. I think he should have broken up with her either way if he wasn’t happy.), but it became pathetic beyond that point.

Let's chat!

