2013: Bookish New Year Resolutions

2013 resolutions

I don’t usually set resolutions for myself because I hardly ever stick with them, but I decided to give it a go for 2013. Let’s see how this year turns out. And beware: there’s a lot of parentheses abuse in this post.

1. Read (and finish!) at least 100 books in 2013.
In 2012 my Goodreads reading goal was to finish 100 books. I read 80+, which is lovely, but I’d really like to hit that 100 mark because I know I can. In the summertime I went through a two month reading slump due to family drama and general apathy toward my hobby. That’s okay! I want to read (and enjoy, that’s important) 100 books, but it will not become an unhealthy obsession. (Healthy obsessions are totally fine, though.)

2. Stop casting books aside just because I don’t plan to review them.
I fell into a pretty horrible and lame trap since I started my book blog. I sometimes (okay, often) put books on the backburner—promising I’ll get to them eventually—because I’m not planning on doing more than read them. Or maybe even because they might take me more time to read than usual. This has got to stop… and it will in 2013.

3. Make a dent in the books I already own. (And get a more competent shelf!)
I don’t have the most extensive book collection (at the moment. I absolutely plan on changing that.), but I have quite a bit of books I haven’t read and really want to get to. I think I almost have more books on my shelf (or in a stack) that haven’t been read than have. In addition: I don’t organize a book within my shelf until it’s read, and my poor bookshelf is already full. Therefore I need to invest in a bigger or additional shelf.

4. Read some of the books I’ve been meaning to forever
This is somewhat connected to the past two resolutions on this list. I have a lot of books on my TBR list that I totally want to read, but just… haven’t. Some of them being books like Wuthering Heights, The Fault in Our Stars, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, The Princess Diaries, et cetera. There are so many good books I have yet to read and I hope to start getting those done this year.

5. Visit bookstores every once in a while.
I don’t go to bookstores very often because I usually just borrow my books from the library, but I really want to check out more bookstores that, maybe, I don’t even know exist yet. This means going to Barnes and Noble more, going to Half Price Books, mom-and-pop shops, and whatever else. The atmosphere is much different in a store than on the computer and picking up books and looking at them will bring more opportunities to find new and interesting books to read.

6. Remember the real reason I started a book blog in the first place.
Above all else I want to always remember the reason I started this blog in the first place. My book blog is an outlet for me to talk about books and related things because not many people I know like to read the way I do. I’m not having any problem remembering this right now, but I want to keep remembering it so I’ll never have to deal with a book blog crisis in the future. I want to remember that it’s fun and something I love to do… not a blog, not work, not book reviews… it’s a passion to be enjoyed.

Do you have any resolutions for the new year?

2 thoughts on “2013: Bookish New Year Resolutions

    1. Thank you! The last one is most important to me too. Without it all the other ones don’t matter very much.

      I hope you have a good day! (And year!)

Let's chat!

