Waiting on Wednesday (1): The Moon and More

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
the moon and more
The Moon and More
by Sarah Dessen
Publication Date: June 4, 2013

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

Sarah Dessen’s devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

If you thought I was going to spotlight anything but Sarah Dessen’s newest book on my very first WoW post, you don’t know me very well. No matter, no matter. I super excited for this to come out. Not only is Sarah Dessen one of my favorite authors, but this sounds so great. Yes, yes, let’s do this!

5 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (1): The Moon and More

    1. Oh, my gosh, me too. I saw some people saying this is a book similar to her others, but to my knowledge Sarah Dessen has never written about a character who is moving on to college and struggling with it.

      I don’t know, but either way I’ll be first in line.

  1. Shame on me! I haven’t read any Sarah Dessen’s books and I really should! Her contemporaries looks great– let me go add it to my wish list! 😀

    1. I love her books. (The Truth About Forever and Just Listen are my favorites, if you were wanting somewhere to start.) I’m sososo excited for this book to come out.

Let's chat!

