We Need to Talk

“We need to talk.” That makes things seem so serious and life changing. This isn’t, but we do need to talk.

You know I’m always changing my layout and tweaking things around and generally making things unstable for the sake of “It will be better.” Thank you for sticking around, and I’m sorry. If you don’t like it you’re really not going to like what I’m about to say.

I’m thinking about changing the name of my blog. I know, I know, I KNOW. Right now I’m just “thinking” about it because I have no idea what I would even change it to. Everything is always taken or I decide it’s lame. That’s not why I’m writing this, though.

I want to know how much you guys would hate me if I did indeed change the name of the blog. On a scale from one to ten. Kidding! (kind of) Of course I would try to make the change as smooth as possible and everything.

The thing is: the name “Books And” was always just a placeholder for me. I wanted to start my blog right that moment and “Books And” is what I thought of. I had always planned to change it to something else just as soon as I figured out what that something else was going to be. Right now I’m at a point where I want to get things down and fastened, so I need to decide if that includes a name change or not. I would rather change the name now than way later when it’ll be much harder to pull off. Believe me, I’ve been thinking about this a lot and for a while.

Anyway, will you be peeved with me? Again, I’m not definitely going to, but I wanted to give a heads up just in case. I’ll definitely let you know before any changes are made. (:

7 thoughts on “We Need to Talk

  1. I’m new here, but don’t see why it would be a problem if you changed your name. It’s your thoughts and opinions that get people coming back to your blog – not your blog name. If anything, it’ll just be confusing but I think most of us usually can get over that (like when you changed your blog background >.>).

    So though my opinion isn’t much, I say go for it! I’m glad we could have this talk. 😛

    1. Yeah, I was thinking around the same lines. Aside from not having a new name, the only thing holding me back is the fear of it being too confusing. But I’ve been thinking about changing the name for so long that I don’t think I’ll STOP thinking about it until I do something about it. I would rather make a change when the blog is still kind of young. You know?

      Anyway, thanks for your input. Your opinion helps a lot (:

      1. Yes, definitely better to do it while the blog is young than after you have some huge following. While I’m okay with my blog name, I have similar thoughts with the domain. I’ve been playing with setting up a site outside of wordpress, and feel like it’ll have to happen sooner than later because of the confusion! It’s so easy to obsess over these things sometimes. (I’m at least glad I’m not alone!)

          1. I want to move from .com to .org at some point. Change my domain name to match my actual site and have more freedom to actually do what I want instead of being restricted by WordPress. I’m just trying to wait until uni is over and then I’m sure I’ll make the plunge. Otherwise, I’ll be like you, and just think about it everyday all summer! 😛

            1. Ah, yes. I know what you mean. I would like to do the same thing eventually. (Another reason for the name difficulties. Haha.)

              Yeah, definitely. I mean if you think about it all the time you might as well just do it. You could change the handle in your URL until you get your own domain, but I think that would probably be more work than it’s worth. *shrugs*

              I’m still riding the “Wow, WordPress is so much better!” wave from when I switched from Blogger. It’d be nice to have more flexibility with theme customization and whatnot, but oh well.

Let's chat!

