In My Mailbox (14) / Stacking the Shelves (8)

In My Mailbox (hosted by The Story Siren) and Stacking the Shelves (hosted by Tynga’s Reviews) are weekly memes in which bloggers share the books they buy, borrow, and receive.

20130409_thingsifindinbooks_00320130412_thingsifindinbooks_032

    1. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
    2. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
    3. Unremembered by Jessica Brody (photographed twice, whoops)
    4. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
    5. Nine Stories by J.D. Salinger
    6. Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer
    7. Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger
    8. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
    9. My Beautiful Failure by Janet Ruth Young
    10. Blind Spot by Laura Ellen
    11. Pulse by Patrick Carman
    12. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

I already started Unremembered and Etiquette & Espionage and they’re both pretty good. I’m so excited to start Code Name Verity. I’m sort of scared of not liking it as much as the hype suggests I will, though. Oh well. There’s only one way to find out!

Also, I haven’t posted anything since wednesday because I took a little break from the blog (really from the internet in general). It was much needed, so thank you for being patient. I plan to have a review or two up in the next few days. (:

18 thoughts on “In My Mailbox (14) / Stacking the Shelves (8)

  1. Wow that’s a lot of books! I’m curious as to how you like Code Name Verity. I’ve heard a lot of positive things about it too, but haven’t read it yet. Sometimes I feel more hesitant to read a book when everyone loves it because I’m worried I’ll be the odd one out. Hope you enjoyed your little break 🙂

    1. Thank you, I did. (:
      It’s a ton of books. I think I have, like, 25 things checked out from the library. I should probably start taking it easy. Haha.

  2. I checked out Code Name Verity from the library last year, though I wasn’t able to finish it. Someday I’d love to read the entirety, but from what I did read–which was roughly half of the book: it’s really quite good and likely to make readers misty-eyed. I hope you enjoy it with the rest of the book stack!

    1. Thank you! (:

      I’m glad I’m not alone. I also have trouble with reviewing them sometimes. Not so much trouble with actually reviewing, but worrying that I’ve been influenced by what other people said. You know? I try not to read up too much on books so I don’t have the chance to be influenced by anything but the book.

    1. I totally didn’t realize Unremembered was Science Fiction when I started reading it. It threw me for a loop. Haha. I’ve barely started E&E, but what I’ve read so far is good. I want to pick it back up soon.

    1. I have no idea about similarities, but I know a lot of people LOVE the show. The book is pretty good too, though I still haven’t read too much of it. Haha.

    1. I’m liking Unremembered right now. I’m nearly done with it. I think I only have, like, 80 pages left. And then a review!

      Yeah, I was thinking about start Code Name Verity next. I want to read it because so many people say it’s amazing… but I’m not completely sure what it’s even about. You know? The descriptions are sort of vague. I guess I could just trust people. Haha.

Let's chat!

