Lisa’s Summer Reading List (2013)

I’ve been seeing a lot of people making to-do lists and lists of books they want to read before BEA. Now, I’m not going to BEA, but that doesn’t mean I can’t make a list too, right? A summer reading list!

I’m not the type of person to make lists of books or tell myself to read certain things at certain times. I’m definitely a “feelings” reader. I read what I want, when I want. And I like it that way. That said: My TBR on Goodreads is dangerously close to 500 books and, to be honest, it’s completely overwhelming. I want to go through it sometime, but until then I thought I would make a smaller list of books I want to read.

There’s, like, 30 books on this list. Just because they’re all on “The List” doesn’t mean they’ll be read or I’ll even stick to The List. This is more of a quick guide for myself if I find myself wondering what to read next. Because the list is so long I made a “Top 6” list of books I have to read or I’ll die.
Without further ado, The List:

Top 6 Books I Have to Read This Summer:

summer reading list 2013
The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen
How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

Books I’m Risking Death By Not Reading:

Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender
52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody
The Rules for Disappearing by Ashley Elston
Our Song by Jordanna Fraiberg
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Truth or Dare by Jacqueline Green
That Time I Joined the Circus by J.J. Howard
Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt
True by Erin McCarthy
Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer (re-reading with my sister. Excited!)
If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch
Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
The Symptoms of My Insanity by Mindy Raf
The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys
Curveball: The Year I Lost My Grip by Jordan Sonnenblick
Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer
Ink by Amanda Sun
Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke
OCD, the Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn
Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos
The Distance Between Us by Kasie West
The Program by Suzanne Young

As you can see, I’m rather ambitious with my reading goals. I know I won’t be able to read all the books, but a nice chunk will do.

What do you plan to read this summer?


P.S. I’m treating summer as now until the end of August-ish. Probably into September because that would be technically correct.

12 thoughts on “Lisa’s Summer Reading List (2013)

  1. I’m really excited to read The Moon and More! I really liked 52 Reasons to Hate My Father, and I want to read The Program too. As for this month, I’m excited for Parallel and The Lucy Variations to come out. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    1. Oh man. I’m SOOO excited for The Moon and More. I have a countdown and all. 31 days, 13 hours, and a handful of minutes and seconds until release. Haha.

      I forgot about Parellel and The Lucy Variations. I’ve heard decent things about both. Been thinking about checking them out. I hope you enjoy them (:

  2. Looks like a great list! I’ve actually only read two books out of all of these. Bad Girls Don’t Die and Twilight (duh). I read Bad Girls Don’t Die about a year ago, but I honestly cannot remember anything about it. I mean, it’s literally sitting right on my bookshelf next to my bed and I KNOW I read it because I remember getting a strange look from my boss when I told her the name of the book when she asked before, but I just cannot remember a single thing about the book. Such horrible book amnesia! And I reread Twilight for school last month. Didn’t go through with the rest of them though. I think it’s really neat to revisit such iconic books though to see if your thoughts on them have changed.

    Sorry for rambling! You have quite the ambitious goal for this summer, so good luck! I’ll be happy if I read even half!

    1. Yeah, I’m not really positive what Bad Girls Don’t Die is about, but I remembered it sounding good while I was at Barnes and Noble, so I got it from the library. (Sorry, B&N! Haha.)

      My sister hasn’t read the whole Twilight Saga, but I was completely obsessed a few years ago. I mean REALLY obsessed. Haha. I’m pretty excited to go back and read the books again. I’m sure it will make me somewhat nostalgic. Now that some time has passed, though, I bet I’ll be rolling my eyes a bit more than before. Hah.

      Oh, man… I hope I can read at least half. I know I won’t be able to read them all, but I wanted to give myself a selection to choose from.

      No, no, I like rambling. Rambling is good for conversation 😀

    1. Oh yeah, I saw you weren’t too crazy about Ink. I hope I like it. I’m pretty excited for it.

      I’m soooo excited for In the Shadow of Blackbirds. I’ve been hearing good things as well.

  3. Is all of those 600 books on your shelf waiting to be read? 😀 I have 114 books to be read in my shelf, and some of them are re-reads like Twilight Saga, since I read them in my mother tongue (Norwegian). They’re hiddiiusly translated! 😀

    1. Like 450 of them are on my to be read list. I want to go through it and take off books I know I’ll never read though.

      I don’t know Norwegian, so I’ll take your word for it. Haha. I hope you like them in English (:

  4. I can’t wait for The Moon and More! I have been wanting to read Eleanor & Park for a while now but haven’t had the chance. My goal is to read 50 books this year, so far I’m ahead of schedule (according to goodreads). I especially look forward to reading Taken by Erin Bowman. I’ve read great reviews and it sounds interesting.

Let's chat!

