Mini Reviews: City of Ashes & City of Glass

!! If you haven’t read City of Bones, City of Ashes, or City of Glass you’re going to want to skip these reviews, because they’re super spoiler-y. You’re warned (: !!

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare

City of AshesUnfortunately when I started City of Ashes I wasn’t feeling it. I was super excited to get started because I loved City of Bones, but I found myself bored for the first few chapters. I took a long break from it, in fact. When I came back to the book, though, all was well and it was basically full steam ahead. From the bitchy inquisitor to Simon becoming a vampire, I couldn’t get enough. I think I went through the whole novel in just a couple days of binge reading. I found City of Ashes to be just as enjoyable as City of Bones and full of surprises that keep you wanting more, more, more. The end was, of course, a cliffhanger. I found it intriguing mostly because Clary was talking to a person who could very well be one of the enemies, but she was offering a solution to her mother’s predicament, so it was one of those things you’re torn over. Because of everything that happened in the book and the cliffhanger at the end, I immediately borrowed and started reading City of Glass, the third book in The Mortal Instruments.

Rating: 3.5 or 5 stars


City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare

City of GlassI had trouble getting into City of Ashes (book two in The Mortal Instruments series), but thankfully there was no such problem with City of Glass, though this book took me significantly longer to get through than the other two books in the series. I’m not sure why, but my interest wasn’t piqued in the same way it was for the other books. City of Glass was interesting, yes, but I wasn’t pressed to learn more until at least half way through the length. Anyhow, City of Glass, like the other books, was jam packed with action and plot twists. Looking back on it now, there was a ton of plot twists in this installment and all of them were 100% in bounds and needed. I mean, hello! welcome back to the romance… and woah, I totally wasn’t expecting that to happen to Valentine. City of Glass was so full of the action that made me fall in love with the series in the first place, and I’m sort of anxious to pick up City of Fallen Angels and get started.

Rating: 4 of 5 stars


Reviews from the rest of the series:
City of Bones (#1)

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: City of Ashes & City of Glass

  1. Looking back, I think I was less than wowed by City of Ashes. I mean, it was enjoyable, but didn’t blow me away like City of Bones did. City of Glass, however… wow. It was so good! I will say that I wish the series had ended with that one. The next ones are good, but it’s like “okay, I’m over this series now” you know? Hope you enjoy them though!

    1. Thanks (:

      I had that up down feeling with the first three books as well. I still haven’t read the next book, but we’ll see how those stand up. I’m really hoping I like them, but I’m afraid they might drag. *shrugs*

Let's chat!

