In My Mailbox (21) / Stacking the Shelves (15)

In My Mailbox (hosted by The Story Siren, temporarily at The Mod Podge Bookshelf) and Stacking the Shelves (hosted by Tynga’s Reviews) are weekly memes in which bloggers share the books they buy, borrow, and receive.


So it turns out I’m not very good at disipline. I meant to ban myself from the library–because I always get a ton of books and read only a portion of them–but it seems to have failed. I saw one book and then I saw another… and then another. Every book I got from the library this week was on the “New Books” shelf, so that’s cool.

imm21-1

imm21-2

imm21-3

Borrowed:

Delirium Stories by Lauren Oliver
Requiem by Lauren Oliver
The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr
Curveball: The Year I Lost My Grip by Jordan Sonnenblick
Anthem for Jackson Dawes by Celia Bryce
Unnatural Creatures
Doll Bones by Holly Black
Winger by Andrew Smith
A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty
Flowers in the Sky by Lynn Joseph
The Wrap-Up List by Steven Arntson
How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer
Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby
Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff

imm21-4

Bought:

Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach
A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

Will Grayson, Will Grayson is signed, woo hoo! My sister got it from a thrift store for a dollar. And she actually got A Walk to Remember for herself, but I was so excited about it that she gave it to me. And both books are in, like, new condition. YES! Anyway, signed page:

imm21-5

My library still doesn’t have The Moon and More, so that’s rather bummy. Oh well. Did you get anything cool?


P.S. I’m at my brother’s house and Rip Girls is on Disney Channel right now. I’m so stoked. This is one of my favorite Disney Channel movies ever. Does anyone else like this movie? We should totally chat about it. Oh, and Sydney and Kona just kissed. Awww!

34 thoughts on “In My Mailbox (21) / Stacking the Shelves (15)

  1. A Corner of White sounds really good! That’s a new one for me. A Walk To Remember is my FAVOURITE Nicholas Sparks book, it’s different from the film (which was still awesome!), I hope you love it as much as I did. That ‘arms full, shouldering door, stumbling home’ scene used to happen to me more when I was at uni, trying to get reading materials for my essays, lol. I was always paranoid I wouldn’t have enough references! And like you there were always some books in the pile that I never read…. ooops.

  2. How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True and The Lucy Variations are both on my TBR list, I’m curious to see what you think of them! 🙂 RIP GIRLS! I haven’t watched it in a long time, but I remember loving it & having to watch it whenever it came on TV! That and Alley Cat Strike were my 2 favorite Disney channel movies.:)

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    1. I have a tape that I recorded YEARS ago of a bunch of Disney Channel stuff. Rip Girls is the very first thing on it. Love it. I don’t remember it well, but I think I’ve seen Alley Cat Strike. It looks sort of familiar. I wish the old Disney Channel movies were available on DVD or something. Boo.

    1. I’m really looking forward to Winger. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. I started reading The Lucy Variations, but I didn’t continue with it. Not sure why. Hah.

    1. Yeah. My sister had vague memory of me mentioning it before and THAT’S why she got it. It was almost passed up. Haha. Good luck, that is.

  3. At some point or another I really want to check out the Delirium series. The premise doesn’t sound like something I would love, but I know I do like good dystopian novels, and many people seem to enjoy Lauren Oliver’s books — it wouldn’t hurt to check out. Doll Bones looks especially good! I have it on my to-read list, too, so hopefully this summer I’ll get around to it. I’d checked out Paper Valentine when it first came out, but I wasn’t in the right mood for the genre — from what I did read, it seems good and promising. I hope you enjoy it with all the other books!

    1. Yeah, I liked Delirium well enough, but Pandemonium sort of lost me. I have to read Requiem to know what happens. You know what I mean? I don’t like where the story is going, but it is what it is.

      I’m not even sure what Paper Valentine is even about. Haha. I love the cover and heard some people talking about it, so I grabbed it.

  4. I’m curious to see what your thoughts are on Requiem! I’ve had that on my TBR since it came out but I just don’t want to series to end, haha. I hope you enjoy all your new books! Happy reading! 🙂

    1. I am too. I wasn’t too thrilled about where the story was going toward the end of Pandemonium, so I hope I’ll like it again in Requiem.

      Thanks for stopping by! (:

  5. I LOVE all the books you grabbed from the library!! You make my little librarian’s heart SO HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY!! 😀 *squeezes you* I ADORE the Delirium series!! I even have some of the words inked on my body forever. It was just such a brilliant concept in my opinion. I love Lauren! I CANNOT believe you got that SIGNED book for a buck!! TOO COOL! I hear stories like that but never get that lucky when I’m at those stores. 😦 C’est la vie! I still have an ARC of Paper Valentine sitting on my shelf waiting for me! *epic fail for me* Happy reading!
    Our Week in Books @Libby Blog

    1. I wish I liked the Delirium series more than I do, because it’s so well loved in the book community. *shrugs*

      Yeah, my sister also found The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, but she was hiding them from me because she knew I’d want them. Hater. haha.

  6. Oh wow! How awesome that you got the book signed o: I want to read the books by Lauren Oliver so much. I saw them at a new bookstore where I live. I’d buy them if I had money xD Paper Valentine looks really interesting.

    And A Walk To Remember is an amazing book. I cried so much. Nothing like the book, entirely independent in a good way that you’ll probably love.

    Happy Reading! 😀

    1. I love the movie and the book so much. I’ve been wanting a copy of A Walk to Remember since I read it, so I’m glad to have it. (:

  7. Awesome haul! The spine of WInger is so cool. I really loved Delirium and Pandemonium though I still have to purchase the rest of the series. Thanks so much for sharing and I hope you enjoy everything! I also love your blog background. 🙂

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

Let's chat!

