Top Ten Tuesday (14): Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish to facilitate list sharing. My lists, as usual, are in no real order. This week’s topic:

Top 10 Authors Who Deserve More Recognition:

in the shadow of blackbirdsAmelia Anne is Dead and Gonethe disenchantmentsocd, the dude, and meAmy and Roger's Epic Detour
cat winterskat rosenfieldnina lacourlauren roedy vaughnmorgan matson

 
Cat WintersIn the Shadow of Blackbirds has been one of my favorite books of the year and it breaks my heart how few people I see or hear talking about it. Not to mention being super nice, Cat Winters is a wonderful writer and definitely should get more recognition. P.S. She has another book (The Cure for Dreaming) coming out in 2014! Yay!

Kat Rosenfield — I don’t know if it’s because she only has one book out so far or what, but I feel like there are a ton of people who tell me they had never heard of Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone before I mentioned it. WHAT?! Sigh. Kat Rosenfield has such a poetic way of writing, but it doesn’t turn all purple prose-y. She has another book (Inland) coming out in 2014 and you best believe I’m gonna to be all over that.

Nina LaCour — I have no idea how I came across Nina LaCour. I read The Disenchantments and liked that before I realized I’d had LaCour’s first novel, Hold Still on my Kindle the whole time. How I missed that, I don’t know, but I did. So, obviously, I read Hold Still and liked that too. I feel like a lot of people are aware of Nina LaCour but haven’t read her books. Let’s change that!

Lauren Roedy Vaughn — I honestly believe OCD, the Dude, and Me is one of the best debuts I’ve read this year. And it’s super underrated. Unlike Nina LaCour, I feel like there’s just an absence of talk about Lauren Roedy Vaughn. Period. Which is a crying shame considering the wonderful character she created in her debut novel. Give her a chance, guys! I promise you won’t regret it.

Morgan Matson — I know you’re probably reading this like “Morgan Matson, SERIOUSLY?” Yes, seriously. While Morgan Matson is plenty loved within the book blogging community, I’ve met very few people outside of book blogging (that is: the general population) who know her books. Shame, what a shame.


As you can see there’s only five authors on this week’s list. There were other authors I could have included, but I feel like the five I chose were sufficient and probably the best out of my whole list. To be completely honest, everyone else is either super well know or in the same boat as Morgan Matson.

I’m pretty excited to see what everyone else says this week. I love discovering new books/authors to love.

EDIT: Oh man, you guys. I’m looking at everyone’s posts and seeing so many authors I love and totally agree need more recognition. How did I NOT put them on my list. Who knows? *shrugs*

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (14): Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

  1. I actually JUST finished OCD, the Dude, and Me and easily could have put Lauren Roedy Vaughn on my list. That book gave me ALL the feels. I’m going to have a hard time writing my review, I think.

  2. While I absolutely adored Kat Rosenfield’s use of language in Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone, I think my biggest problem with that novel was that I lacked any real connection with it. As beautifully written as it was, I couldn’t help but feel that there wasn’t really any heart in it, like it was an empty vessel that was pretty to look at but held nothing inside 😦 That said, I will read her next novel as I’m curious to see if my feelings were limited to that particular novel and I certainly saw great potential in her debut.

    Great choices! Like you, I put Morgan Matson on my own list. I’ve found that while she’s well-known, few book bloggers have actually read her work, which I think is such a shame.

    1. I had the same problem with Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone for about half the novel. I nearly gave it back to the library half unread because it felt pointless. I loved it by the end, though. I’m excited for her next book. I’d like to see what she pulls out of her sleeves with this next one.

  3. I’ve been meaning to check out In the Shadow of Blackbirds and The Disenchantments! I totally agree with you about Morgan Matson as well. No one knows who she is outside of the blog world! 🙂

  4. I have Nina LaCour on my list too. I NEVER hear people talking about her books I think they really should. Both were fantastic in a different kind of way. And I love Morgan Matson. Second Chance Summer is one of my favorite books and it inspired a weekly post I do on my own blog.

    My TTT List

  5. I also loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour! I’ve yet to read Second Chance Summer, though >_< And the books of the other authors in your list are all in my TBR list 😄 Great list!

    Thanks for dropping by my TTT post! 😀

    – Kazhy @ My Library in the Making

Let's chat!

