Review: Cinder – Marissa Meyer

Cinder
Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: January 3, 2013
Source/Format: Library / Hardcover, 387 pages
Opening Sentence: “The screw through Cinder’s ankle had rusted, the engraved cross marks worn to a mangled circle.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer is one of those books that has a lot of hype and, therefore, intimidates me to no end. In fact, I was putting off reading it for some time because I was concerned about the hype being bigger than the book. I didn’t run into such a problem, though. I actually really loved Cinder. I haven’t read a lot of fairytale retellings, so I have basically nothing to compare Cinder to aside from the Cinderella stories I already know. It’s probably better that way anyway.

Cinder came to me as a surprise, really. I wasn’t expecting very much from it and was thrilled when I was instantly drawn into the story. In the very first chapter three important people made an appearance and a lot of the conflict of the story was introduced. I love books that get right to the point and Cinder is definitely one that wasted no time–at the beginning or otherwise. Zero fluff is wonderful.

One thing I realized near the end of the book was how nervous/anxious I was. I wasn’t entirely sure how things were going to be cleaned up and it gave me so much anxiety. The phrase “I can’t deal with this.” left my mouth several times while I was reading the last few chapters. I can’t recall a time in the recent past that I’ve been so anxious while reading a book. It doesn’t happen to me often. I got so invested in the story and the characters nearly everything was making me nervous or breaking my heart.

Speaking of breaking my heart: Cinder was a true “Cinderella” and I was extremely protective of her. When anyone treated her badly it made me so angry I wanted to reach into the book and smack them. Meyer was so great at making mean people. Not just “Mwahaha, I’m evil!” types of people, but also everyday meanness that even the readers could experience and relate to. I hated Cinder’s “family”, but I absolutely appreciated being able to feel so affected by them.

In fact, I totally appreciate being able to feel so affected by just about everything and everyone in the entire novel. From the main characters to an android named Iko to a pandemic with no end in sight… I was extremely connected with the story the entire time I was reading it. Meyer took great care to keep this futuristic world realistic and relatable. Nothing she wrote about seemed completely impossible and it made things equally scary and interesting.

At the end of the day I can’t believe I waited so long to read Cinder. It was fresh, interesting, and totally wonderful.  I’m so anxious to start reading Scarlet. Cinder is definitely one to check out if you haven’t yet.

Rating: 5 of 5 stars

20 thoughts on “Review: Cinder – Marissa Meyer

  1. I’m kind of scared to read hyped up books too that’s why I’m putting off The 5th Wave. I really enjoyed Cinder! I love her character and her little robot guy (what was his name again? So sad when he died!) I hate the stepmother so much, grrrr. The only thing I didn’t like was that it was kind of predictable at some parts. Haha I understand you about being anxious towards the end. I rarely get that feeling when reading books too, and when I DO get anxious, it probably means I really really really love the book!

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

    1. I’ve been meaning to read The 5th Wave too. I know I’ll probably like it, but for some reason I’m convinced I won’t. *shrugs* I guess I’ll find out eventually.

  2. I absolutely loved Cinder as well! I wasn’t sure what to expect either, but with all the hype I got curious and I’m so glad I did! I think you make a great point about how you get right into the action; I had not even thought of that. But I agree that I definitely appreciate that in a story!

  3. It’s really great when you go into a book with high expectations and still end up loving it. I felt very protective of Cinder too, and I really pitied her at times, especially with all the things relating to her family.

    Alise @ Readers in Wonderland

    1. I can’t believe I didn’t mention pitying her… because I definitely did. She’s just one of those characters you can’t help but love.

  4. Hey! So glad you linked up for the Catch Up Club and even more excited that you liked the book! I completely agree – I was on the edge of my seat the whole time as well! Hope you get to Scarlet soon!

  5. I’m glad the book lives up to the hype – I have it sitting on my floor right now and have been putting it off for the exact same reason as you! Maybe I’ll get around to it a bit quicker now 🙂

  6. Lisa! You are totally right! I remember putting down this book near the end JUST TO BREATHE. The build-up, the anxiety and everything were too much for me that I needed to slow down. I was sick that time and my headache became a massive one with the way I was reading. But still, even though I was sick, I finished it at 2AM because I cannot put off finishing it anymore. Cinder is SO great. Great review, Lisa! Thank you for joining the Cinder #CatchUpClub read-along!

  7. I just read this one recently as well and loved it! Glad you did too! You’re right when you say that Meyer made it so you can feel affected by each and every character. They all made me feel something, whether good or bad, and each one seemed well rounded. Hope you enjoy Scarlet as well. I enjoyed it even more than Cinder!

  8. Hooray! Glad you enjoyed this one too! 🙂 I took a while to read Cinder too, but I loved it. I agree, Meyer really keeps the reader connected to/anxious about the story. I hope you enjoy Scarlet (although, be warned, it will only make the wait for Cress even worse)! 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    1. I’m not sure when I’m planning to read Scarlet. I was thinking about waiting until Cress comes out, but I don’t know how that’s going to work. haha. I’m too excited to read Scarlet.

  9. I have been really nervous about reading this one for the same reason you were, with all the hype, I’m scared I won’t like this one as much as everyone else. After reading your review, I think I’ll have to pick it up sooner rather than later!

Let's chat!

