ARC Review: Earthbound – Aprilynne Pike

Earthbound
Title: Earthbound
Author: Aprilynne Pike
Series: Earthbound #1
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: July 30, 2013
Source/Format: Bibliopunkk / ARC, 338 pages
Opening Sentence: “I remember the plane going down.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

Tavia Michaels is the sole survivor of the plane crash that killed her parents. When she starts to see strange visions of a boy she’s never spoken with in real life, she begins to suspect that there’s much about her past that she isn’t being told.

Tavia immediately searches for answers, desperate to determine why she feels so drawn to a boy she hardly knows. But when Tavia discovers that the aunt and uncle who took her in after her parents’ death may have actually been responsible for the plane crash that killed them–and that she may have been the true intended victim–she flees for the safety of Camden, Maine, where the boy she sees in her visions instructs her to go.

Now, Tavia is on the run with no one to trust. No one, that is, except for her best friend and longtime crush, Benson.

Tavia feels torn between the boy who mysteriously comes to her at night and the boy who has been by her side every step of the way. But what Tavia doesn’t know is that the world is literally falling apart and that to save it she will have to unite with the boy in her visions. Only problem? To do so would mean rejecting Benson’s love. And that’s the one thing Tavia Michaels swore she’d never do.

Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike was one of those books I went into without really giving the synopsis a glace. I knew there’d be a triangle and the events were paranormal… but other than that? Nada. I guess I should forget beating around the bush and just be honest. I almost quit Earthbound. DNF. Done. Goodbye. It’s not that I wasn’t liking it… It’s that I wasn’t really hating it either. I was mostly apathetic for a lot of the book, save some eye rolls or “omg”s every once in a while.

Honestly, I’m having a hard time thinking of what to say about the book because I just… didn’t really care. Again, I didn’t hate it and it was, by no means, a bad story… I was just less interested than I thought I would be. The pacing felt a bit… off to me. I was interested enough in the story to get through it, but at times it seemed to take forever to read. Information took way too long to present itself and it became rather annoying the more I read. Just give me the damn information, please! It was suspenseful in a bad, annoying way.

BUT: The idea of a huge, long-lasting conspiracy is damn interesting and one of the few things that made me pick up the book in the first place. I feel like I’m going to be looking for “signs” everywhere. I thought the story was going to be more government conspiracy, but it’s actually something different… and sort of hard to explain. Either way, it’s pretty intriguing and a bit Food For Thought-ish.

When it comes to characters I’m very good at giving people the benefit of the doubt. But Tavia… Oh, Tavia. She really seemed to be one of those people who would forget about everyone important to her for a guy. She technically didn’t have anyone to lose in the story, but the feeling was and is just the same. I do realize some people are like that, but it’s not something I can get behind (especially not in a main character). I didn’t hate Tavia, honestly, but I didn’t love her or even like her. I couldn’t have cared less about what happened to her. I think that fact loans itself to my general apathy toward the novel. I didn’t like (respect might be a better word) the main character, and that made it very hard for me to dig the whole story.

I did love 1/3 of the “love” triangle, though. Benson? Nooo. Quinn! He was mysterious and dreamy and polite (good manners goes a long way with me)… I loved him. And he may or may not be in the next installment of the series. That fact alone is enough to keep me hanging on. I want- no, scratch that. I need more Quinn. Without him I don’t think I would go on to the next novel. That’s how much I love him.

Sooo yeah. I have very mixed feelings about Earthbound. Like I said, I do plan to read the next book in the series, but I’m going to hop into it with tweaked expectations. Don’t let my weirdness with the book keep you from reading it. At the end of the day it’s a very interesting topic and one to keep in mind if you’re looking for something that will make you double take.

Rating: 3 of 5 stars

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Earthbound – Aprilynne Pike

Let's chat!

