Bout of Books 8.0

Bout of BooksThe Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.


In my sign up post I reminded you all that I’m basically terrible at read-a-thons. Well, I’m really juiced for this one to start and am going to try my best to do better than a certain last time. (Okay, fine… I guess I didn’t do that bad last time, but I know I can read more.) Alright? So let’s do this. What are my goals?

My Goals

  • Read 4 – 6 books
  • Write reviews for books read (or at least take notes)
  • Participate in at least 1 Twitter chat
  • Participate in at least 2 challenges
  • Visit other participant’s blogs every day

Books to Choose From:

Bout of Books 8.0
Born of Illusion by Teri Brown
The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines
In Honor by Jessi Kirby
Ink by Amanda Sun
The Loop by Shandy Lawson
How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer
Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters by Meredith Zeitlin
3:59 by Gretchen McNeil
Find Me by Romily Bernard
Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

None of these goals are etched in stone. In fact, I’m sure I’ll veer from them a lot… but whatever. I’m super excited to get reading this week. (Also, a confession: I still have books from the last BoB that I’ve not written reviews for yet. Fail.)


41 thoughts on “Bout of Books 8.0

  1. I just wanted to stop by and wish you luck! You’ve got a wonderful selection of books here, and I highly recommend In Honor in particular, which was easily one of the best and one of my favourites of the 200+ books I read last year. It’s really something special πŸ™‚ You also have a few novels on your TBR list that I’m looking forward to reading as well, like How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True and 3:59, so I’ll be looking forward to hearing what you thought of them!

  2. Wish I could be a part of this! Too bad it’s a really busy week for me. Good luck! I’d love to hear your thoughts about Born of Illusion and How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True! I’ve been eyeing those at the bookstore! Hope you enjoy The Vincent Boys! I liked it but I enjoyed the second book better. πŸ™‚

    1. Aw, that’s too bad. Maybe you can participate in the next one! πŸ˜€

      I’m particularly excited for Born of Illusion. Zoe is one I’ve been meaning to read for a really long time too.

      The Vincent Boys was entertaining. I wasn’t going to read the second one for BoB, but I’m thinking about getting it from the library in the next couple days.

    1. Thank you! I’ve been hearing decent things about Born of Illusion. I’ve been wanting to read it since the first time I heard about it. (:

  3. Looks like you have some great books to choose from! I have a bunch of those books on my TBR list.

    I really need to get better at putting together my reviews right after I finish reading, or better at taking notes while reading. I just dive right on into the next book and end up having such a hard time recalling my exact thoughts of the book I read before. Maybe one of these days I’ll get better. . . hopefully during Bout of Books!

  4. Sweet day! (Not just the book you finished, but the pastry too!) nom πŸ˜› those challenges were fun, weren’t they?
    Keep up the awesome-ness, playa πŸ˜‰

      1. Hope I haven’t steered you wrong. If you get Book II, let me know whatcha think πŸ™‚ Beau is awesome but Sawyer wins me back over. ANYWAYS — I know,Day II was a bit harder. I read less too. In Honor has been on my TBR for a while now how are you liking it?

        1. Absolutely! I’m just waiting for my library to get it in. (:

          In Honor is good. I’m a little bummed because I thought I would like it more than I do, but whatever. It’s gotten better in recent chapters, so that’s good. I think it will be a somewhat high rating either way. I recommend it definitely.

    1. Raspberry danish! It was yummy. πŸ˜€

      I usually never read that many pages so I was pretty excited. I feel like this readathon is going better for me than the last one did.

  5. Congrats on finishing a book. I did too but didn’t have so many pages. Day two is almost over for me. I’ve gotta get off the computer and start reading again. My page count will not be very high!

  6. First of all: I love your blog design!!! Like…love! It’s so simple, but still sooo pretty! Did you do it yourself? Oh, and then…you’re the second person I see today having one book down already – congrats!!! That’s amazing!!! i only wish I could find that sort of self-discipline…I get distracted wayyy too easily!

    1. Thank you so much! I actually JUST changed it the other day. I really like it, but I wasn’t sure if other people would. So thank you, really. It’s just one of WordPress’s themes with a custom header, background, and sidebar photo things I made!

  7. Great first day!! I want one of those secret library rooms with just walls of books. Beauty & the Beast set my in-home library expectations too high πŸ™‚ The noms look super yummy and are making me hungry LOL
    Happy reading πŸ™‚

  8. The Book Thief and The Fault in Our Stars are definitely up near the top of my TBR pile too. The first because I’ve had it for years, and the second because I want to know what all the fuss is about! My Life Next Door sounds so lovely, I think I might try and finally get hold of a copy NEXT summer for some sweet seasonal reading.

    Thanks for taking part in the challenge, and good luck in the giveaway! πŸ™‚

  9. I hope you’re enjoying How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True … I read that one a few weeks back and thought it was very cute. πŸ™‚ And yay for 3:59!! I can’t wait to read that one!

Let's chat!

