Top Ten Tuesday (16): Things That Make My Life Easier

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish to facilitate list sharing. My lists, as usual, are in no real order. This week’s topic:

Top 10 Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier:

Goodreads – I don’t know how I did anything before Goodreads. I don’t think I could go back to not using it. It helps so much with keeping track of what I’ve read, what I want to read, recording how I feel about books, networking… everything.

Public Library – This one is pretty much given. I use the library so much. It’s crazy to think it exists, but I’m not going to question it. I’m just supremely grateful.
wunderlist
Wunderlist – My Wunderlist is kind of a mess right now, but it’s something I use every single day. If I have an idea for the blog I drop it in there. I keep a list of reviews I have to write and a list of the books/etc I have checked out from the library. I love it.

Twitter – Twitter makes it so easy to talk to people and post things. I can’t even elaborate. I think you know, anyway.

WordPress – Hi, welcome to my blog! I use WordPress. WordPress is SUPER functional and just awesome. I’ve used other blog platforms, but WordPress is the winner for me. I don’t think I could go back to any of the others.

RSS Feeds – If RSS feeds didn’t exist I think I would probably hardly ever read other people’s blogs. It’s too difficult to keep up with which blogs have what address and what the last post I read was. Have a read this one before? RSS feeds and readers are a godsend.

Scheduling Posts – I’m not even going to elaborate on how easy this function makes my life.
wunderlist
Pen and Paper – This one is probably weird to a lot of people, but going back to the ever faithful pen and paper helps get my juices flowing when I’m writing a post. And when electronics aren’t available guess what I’m grabbing for. You got it!
 
 
EDIT: So, going to other people’s TTT posts has made me realize how many wonderful things I’ve forgotten to put on my own list. Things like my Kindle, Post-Its, bookmarks, computers, online book holding at my library, et cetera. I can’t believe I forgot all of these things… but know they’re very important and I use them ALL. THE. TIME.

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (16): Things That Make My Life Easier

  1. HAHA Goodreads is everywhere πŸ˜„ It seems to be the bloggers best friend (and I think it is. It’s my ultimate source of book titles!) I don’t know what Wunderlist is, but am definitely going to check it out if its functional. Oh and WordPress! WELL OF COURSE. Can’t believe I actually forgot that 😦 Where would I even be without it. Haha! I use Twitter just to talk to people. It’s been convenient so far πŸ˜€ And I schedule posts too. Just so I know what I have to do next. Comes in handy really πŸ˜‰ Great post Lisa~

  2. Libraries are the best! (When I really want a book that’s coming out, it’s so helpful to be able to put it on hold months ahead of time.) RSS Feeds are, indeed, a godsend. I’m really glad you like WordPress so much since I’m planning on transferring from Blogger (which is scary and exciting)!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    1. I hope you like WordPress! The back-end functionality is wonderful. So much better than Blogger, though I do sort of miss being able to freely change my design code. (But if you’re going self-hosted then that’s not a problem for you!) πŸ˜€

  3. I really have to schedule my posts, it will really make posting less stressful. Yes! And I have write my posts down on paper as well. It really helps my inspiration and I don’t forget anything/ if I do I can always add it before I upload the posts.

  4. I love WordPress, too! It’s so easy, and pretty, and just awesome.

    And I don’t know what I did before Goodreads, either. Oh wait, yes I do. I wrote the books I read on paper. And then lost the list. πŸ™‚

    1. Haha. Yeah, I forgot about doing that. I still do it though. I usually write book titles down so I remember to put them on GR… but then it doesn’t happen. *shrugs* Oops. Haha.

      I do have a book journal, though. I write in it all the books I’ve read, their star ratings, genres, and the day I finished them on. I’m terribly behind on that though. Need to update it.

    1. Hahaha. Well, in your defence, it seems like something a developer would name their app. You know, like a hip, slightly ironic name? I can see it.

  5. Haha don’t feel bad, I didn’t include many things on my list that I should’ve – like OTHER BLOGGERS! Duh. Blogging wouldn’t be anywhere as much fun without them. And I haven’t heard of Wunderlist – I’ll have to check that out.

    PS. Your layout has changed since the last time I actually came fully to the site. I like it!!

    1. Thank you! I just changed it a few days ago. I really like it, but I wasn’t sure if other people would. The reception hasn’t been bad, though, which makes me very happy. πŸ˜€

Let's chat!

