Bloggiesta! Fall 2013

It’s Bloggiesta time and I’m participating for the first time. Yay!

First, what is Bloggiesta?

bloggiestaIn short, Bloggiesta is a blogging marathon revolving around ticking off those items on your to-do list and improving your blog while in the good company of other awesome bloggers doing the same thing. Our awesome mascot Pedro (Plan. Edit. Develop. Review. Organize) is ready to break out the nachos, enchiladas, drinks, mariachi music and whack a pinata or two! It’s nothing short of an awesome fiesta!

This is my first time participating in Bloggiesta so, like all things Lisa, it’s going to be a complete failure. I never do well my first time at anything. BUT! I’ll feel accomplished even if I get one or two things done, so all is well. I only have, like, one important thing to do this weekend (not counting a readalong that starts on Sunday!) so I’m sure I’ll have lots of free time to tackle the things I’ve been avoiding. Yay!

The List (it looks worse than it is… sorta):

  • Write at least 5 reviews || wrote 3 of 5
  • Update review archives/book list
  • Finish adding alt text to images
  • Format and schedule posts
    • The Loop review
    • Fire with Fire review
    • Find Me review
    • American Girl on Saturn review/tour
    • HS discussion
    • Top Ten Tuesday (at least 3 in advance)
    • Waiting on Wednesday (at least 3 in advance)
  • Reformat/fix old reviews
  • Connect series reviews (links within)
  • Add a “Waiting On” list to Goodreads
  • Add a “debut author” list to Goodreads
  • Write at least 2 discussion posts
  • Update reading challenges
    • Debut Author Challenge
    • YA Contemporary Challenge
    • Book Bingo
  • Update review policy (?)
  • Add existing reviews to Amazon (and other websites?)
  • Write a Banned Books Week post (?)
  • Participate in at least 2 challenges

I’m excited. Let’s do this!


Wrap Up:

So I did pretty horrible like I thought I would. To be completely honest, I didn’t really work on blog stuff as much as I wanted to and that’s why not much got done. Now that I know how Bloggiesta works for me, though, I can plan better for the next one. (Also, I wrote three reviews in, like, an hour. Yes!)

8 thoughts on “Bloggiesta! Fall 2013

  1. Amazing list! I’m feeling very under prepared for Bloggiesta, real life keeps intruding. But I am kicking butt at commenting, which is really why I do Bloggiesta- for the sense of community. Also, so I can find out all the stuff that a real book blogger SHOULD be doing and then I can add it to the endless to do list in my mind.
    Looks like you’re off to a great start!
    Kate @ Midnight Book Girl

  2. Wow…that’s a long list but it looks like you are making progress! I have quite a few of the same things on my list, the biggest being updating my review archive. I always seem to forget to do that on a regular basis. But, I’m hoping, moving forward, to make a point of updating the review archive weekly along with other updates…we’ll see how long that lasts!

    Good luck getting everything done!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

    1. I generally add a book to my archives right after I post the review. It helps so much and it feels like it takes way less time. Once a week sounds like a good amount. (:

  3. Congrats on writing three reviews in an hour…I’m lucky if I can get one done in that amount of time! Updating my review archives seems to take so long, but it’s a job that needs doing. I always make the mistake of leaving it until Bloggiesta comes around, and I have a ton of links to add – not a good idea!

    1. I honestly have no idea how I wrote three in one sitting at all, let alone in an hour. Haha. My focus is usually so horrible that it takes me a couple hours to write one review. *shrugs*

      As for review archives, I make a habit of adding the book(s) to my archives right after I post the review. Or soon after if it’s scheduled. That seems like it would be a hassle, but I feel like it equals to less time simply because it’s easier/less stressful than sorting and entering links all in one shot. You know?

Let's chat!

