High School (AKA: Boring Personal Post)

Here’s a couple gifs before I get to the downer part:


Okay, let’s proceed…

It’s Friday night and I can hear the crowd cheering every time the high school’s football team makes a touchdown. (I live a couple blocks from the school.) Last Friday I sat outside listening to the game and I know our team won because the band played a victory song and then things got quiet for the night.

I bet you’re wondering why I’m talking about this. Well, it’s because I miss high school. You heard me: I miss high school. Before you say I’m crazy I just want to let you know that my adolescence sucked… but it was also not that bad. I miss high school, though, because I never really got to experience it. Not like other people. I never went to a Friday night football game. I never went to prom—or any formal, for that matter. I didn’t learn how to drive and I never broke curfew–not that I had one–because I was having so much fun I lost track of time.

When I was in high school I was going through some stuff and acting out. In my sophomore year I decided it was a good idea to start ditching school… so I did. A lot. (I got, like, five truancy letters, you guys. No joke.) I was hardly ever there. Half way through my junior year I switched out of my high school and started doing independent study at an alternative school. I did all my work at home by myself and went to school once a week to turn stuff in and take tests.

As you can imagine, my old high school life sort of faded away. I didn’t talk to my friends as much (or at all) and I didn’t go to school functions, like, ever. I basically receded into myself. (I was still sort of part of animal rights club, though. That stuck.)

Anyway, what does this have to do with books? To be honest: not too much. I was thinking about it and I think one of the reasons I love YA so much is because I get to live vicariously through the characters I read about. I get to experience high school through them. Go to football games through them. Fall in love through them. Basically, I get to read about the “high school experience” and it almost feels like I was there too.

Would I redo high school if I were given the chance? You bet I would! But since I can’t, I love that I can read about what high school was like with the help of YA books (and movies, TV shows, and whatever). I’m thankful for that more than I can begin to explain. I still regret missing out on so much, but reading makes it way more bearable. I will always be a teenager at heart. Maybe that’s the ultimate reason I love reading YA so much.

P.S. In case you guys are wondering, they won this game too.

P.P.S. I wrote this post a couple weeks ago so obviously it’s not Friday night anymore. Oh, well. *shrugs*

P.P.P.S. Here is one more gif for getting through that post. You’re awesome!


What do you guys think? Did/do you like high school? Do you miss it? Do you feel like you missed anything important? Why do you read YA? Do you feel like you “experience” anything through reading YA (or books in general)?

4 thoughts on “High School (AKA: Boring Personal Post)

  1. My high school experience wasn’t as terrible as some… but I was pretty miserable for a lot of it and I’d never do it again. College, on the other hand… if I could relive those years, I’d do it in a heartbeat.

    1. I totally understand that. I think a lot of people feel the same way. I don’t really like the idea of replaying my adolescence, but I would love to do all the fun (and maybe even not-so-fun) parts of high school, you know? This entire post grew from my regret over never having gone to a friday night football game. Haha.

Let's chat!

