[Blog Tour] Review: American Girl on Saturn – Nikki Godwin + Giveaway

American Girl on Saturn

American Girl on Saturn Nikki Godwin

Title: American Girl on Saturn
Author: Nikki Godwin
Series: Saturn #1
Publication Date: August 29, 2013
Source/Format: For Review / eARC
Opening Sentence: “My heart can’t take a Moo-llennium Crunch kind of night.”
Author Website | Goodreads
Amazon | B&N | Smashwords

The summer after graduation is supposed to be that first real taste of freedom – but not for eighteen-year-old Chloe Branson. Just as that breeze of freedom is making its way into her galaxy, her secret-service-agent dad drops a meteor-sized bomb of bad news on her and her sisters. An attempt has been made on the lives of Canadian boyband, Spaceships Around Saturn, during their USA tour, and the guys have to go into hiding ASAP. The only problem? In the midst of the crisis and media frenzy, their dad volunteered to hide the guys…in their house.

Six-year-old Emery is as ecstatic as any self-proclaimed Saturnite would be, but Chloe and her seventeen-year-old sister Aralie watch their summer plans crash and burn like a falling star. The SAS guys aren’t happy with the situation, either. Bad boy Jules picks fights with Aralie about everything from his Twitter followers to his laundry, and heart-throb Benji can’t escape Emery’s fangirlisms for more than three minutes.

But after the super-cute Milo kisses Chloe during a game of hide-and-seek, she finally understands what Emery means when she talks about SAS being “out of this world.” If this is what Saturn feels like, Chloe doesn’t want to come back to Earth.

American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin is a fangirl’s paradise. If there’s anything you need to know about it, it’s that. Swooning, squealing, and sometimes jealousy included.

The first thing I realized about American Girl on Saturn was how much fun I was having while reading it. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve daydreamed about my celebrity crushes getting caught in some dilemma with me and either falling in love with me or becoming my BFF. I highly doubt a boy band would be locked down in a stranger’s house for three weeks, but it’s no matter because reading this novel was like having those daydreams come true. The reader lives vicariously through the Branson sisters. And let me tell you: it’s pretty awesome.

To be completely honest: American Girl on Saturn sort of read like fan fiction. Granted I haven’t read any in a long time, but it was very peppy and sort of unrealistic in the best way… like fan fiction is. Spaceships Around Saturn is a One Direction-esque boy band made up of five super cute (sometimes temperamental) guys and I feel like I was a complete Saturnite by the end of the book—squeeing, swooning, and daydreaming and everything. It was completely ridiculous—that is, the way I was acting—but I loved every second of it. I loved how effortlessly Godwin made me (and other readers, I’m sure) a fan of this boy band. I’ve never heard their music but I feel like I would still jump at a chance to go to one of their concerts. I most certainly do wish I were a Branson sister.

As far as the Branson sisters go, I don’t really think I have a favorite. They’re all good in their own way, but they also have their drawbacks. Chloe had some growing up to do, Aralie was something of a hothead (ugh), and Emery was a little young for her personality*, but I had a ton of fun reading about them and their wonderful family. Like, Mama Branson and Godfrey are totally welcome to be my friends.

Overall I really liked American Girl on Saturn and had a ton of fun reading it. It’s been a long time since I’ve come across a book that could make me cackle so loudly. I’m so happy I read it. It’s definitely a happy, feel-good book and I would recommend it to anyone who needs something refreshing. And I DEFINITELY recommend it if you’re a One Direction fan.

*Emery is written as five years old but I feel like the way she talked and acted sometimes was a bit older than that. She had her moments when she was definitely acting her age, but I would have liked to see some consistency.

Rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Still not convinced? Hop on over to the next page to read an excerpt from American Girl on Saturn!! (Opens in a new tab/window.)
 


About Nikki Godwin:

Nikki GodwinNikki Godwin is a Young Adult/New Adult author from the southern USA. She is a city girl who can’t live without Mountain Dew, black eyeliner, Hawthorne Heights, and candles from Bath & Body Works. When not writing, she’s not-so-secretly internet-stalking her favorite bands. She may or may not completely love One Direction.
Blog | Twitter | Facebook

 


So what do you think? Sound good?

If you absolutely cannot wait to see if you won you’re in luck! From October 1 to October 7 American Girl on Saturn is available for just $0.99! (links above)

7 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Review: American Girl on Saturn – Nikki Godwin + Giveaway

  1. Is it weird that I was surprised to find out you were on the blog tour too? HAHA! Though I apparently enjoyed this much more than you did, I’m so glad to hear that this had you swooning and squealing too! I do understand what you mean when you said it read like fan fiction. But that was actually why it was so enjoyable for me! I was just fangirling all through out the book! Great review, Lisa! And GO SATURNITES!!!!! ❤

    1. I don’t think the fanfiction thing is necessarily a bad thing… I guess I just wasn’t expecting it. You can totally tell the guys are 1D. But anyway, it was super enjoyable. (:

Let's chat!

