Review: The Vincent Boys – Abbi Glines

The Vincent Boys Abbi Glines

Title: The Vincent Boys
Author: Abbi Glines
Series: The Vincent Boys #1
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: October 12, 2011
Source/Format: Library / Hardcover, 259 pages
Opening Sentence: “‘You notice anything different about Ash?’ my cousin Sawyer asked as he climbed up the tree to sit beside me on our favorite limb overlooking the lake.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

There was something wicked about Beau that drew me to him. What was wrong with me? Why did I want to sin so badly?

Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.

Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.

Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist…

Once upon a time The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines was being featured on my library’s bookshelf. I’d vaguely heard of it, but wasn’t sure. As any good blogger would, I headed to Goodreads and searched for the book’s synopsis. Then my sister giggled at me as I glanced over each shoulder and reached up for the book despite there being a random guy looking right in our direction. The cover was… well, just take a look at that cover. I was not embarrassed.

Just so you guys know… that was a true story. And yes, I do like that cover. No, not just because the guy’s shirt is open.

As far as stories go, The Vincent Boys was a bit cliché but also highly entertaining. I read the whole thing in just a single day and immediately put the second book—The Vincent Brothers—on hold at my library. I liked the romance, but I wasn’t a big fan of the story as a whole. There was a lot of cheating (on significant others) going on in this novel. I was able to count a few different instances. Why was everyone doing it? I know it fit with the story and everything, but so many instances of the same thing sort of felt like overkill.

So I guess technically this novel is about a love triangle, though I don’t really feel like it was quite a love triangle as much as it was Ash, the main character, not wanting to admit what she really wanted. (READ: Beau.) Cheating is bad! But I can’t blame her for falling for Beau. In the battle between Beau and Sawyer Beau definitely wins. Beau was exciting and romantic and just totally swoon-worthy while Sawyer was sort of a bore. And that’s not to mention how much of an asshole he seemed. Ugh.

Anyway, I’ve had a lot of people tell me the second book is better and Sawyer redeems himself, so I can’t wait to shoot into that. I’ll miss Beau, of course, but oh well. The Vincent Boys wasn’t fluffy but I can’t find the word I’m looking for. The subject matter was a little rocky for me, but if you like romance I urge you to give this one a try.

Rating: 3 of 5 stars

4 thoughts on “Review: The Vincent Boys – Abbi Glines

  1. I quite liked these 2 books, but her boys of summer ones were a let down, the Fallen series though – it’s a guilty pleasure of mine! Very twisted, very different from these 2 novels. 😀 Glad you’re giving the companion novel a shot. Enjoy!

Let's chat!

