Waiting on Wednesday (19): Curtsies & Conspiracies

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Curtsies & Conspiracies Gail Carriger

Curtsies & Conspiracies
by Gail Carriger
Publication Date: November 5, 2013

Does one need four fully grown foxgloves for decorating a dinner table for six guests? Or is it six foxgloves to kill four fully grown guests?

Sophronia’s first year at Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality has certainly been rousing! For one thing, finishing school is training her to be a spy (won’t Mumsy be surprised?). Furthermore, Sophronia got mixed up in an intrigue over a stolen device and had a cheese pie thrown at her in a most horrid display of poor manners.

Now, as she sneaks around the dirigible school, eavesdropping on the teachers’ quarters and making clandestine climbs to the ship’s boiler room, she learns that there may be more to a school trip to London than is apparent at first. A conspiracy is afoot–one with dire implications for both supernaturals and humans. Sophronia must rely on her training to discover who is behind the dangerous plot-and survive the London Season with a full dance card.

In this sequel to bestselling author Gail Carriger’s YA debut Etiquette & Espionage, class is back in session with more petticoats and poison, tea trays and treason. Gail’s distinctive voice, signature humor, and lush steampunk setting are sure to be the height of fashion this season.

Guys, I can’t tell you how excited I am for this book. Truth be told, I wasn’t totally sold on Etiquette & Espionage while I was reading it. It wasn’t until later that I realized I enjoyed reading it and missed the world. I started reading Carriger’s adult series (in the same world) to hold me over, but I really can’t explain how stoked I am for this book to finally come out. Yay!

12 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (19): Curtsies & Conspiracies

      1. No you haven’t. I’ve read a lot of reviews for the first book, and some were I think a little spoilery so I have a reasonable idea what goes on. The synopsis makes me want to give it and the first book a go.

  1. I’m really looking forward to this one, even though I didn’t really love Etiquette & Espionage as much as I’d expected to. I’m a big fan of the Parasol Protectorate series, and I think maybe I didn’t like E&E as much because of the age of the main character. I’m hoping that she’ll grow on me a bit more as she grows up in the next three books! Meanwhile, C&C is on my preorder list already!

    1. PP is definitely more adult. I personally like YA books more, but the two series, despite taking place in the same world, have very different tones and everything. Hopefully C&C is good! 😀

Let's chat!

