Review: Insurgent – Veronica Roth

insurgent

Title: Insurgent
Author: Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent #2
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 1, 2012
Source/Format: Personal Library / Ebook
Opening Sentence: “I wake with his name in my mouth.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

I’ve been waiting for some time to write this review. Honestly I don’t really know what to say. The first time I made a move to read Insurgent by Veronica Roth I got a chapter in and quit. Second book slump, if you will. Obviously the second try was more successful. But how did I like it?

Insurgent was everything I was expecting and more. Thrills and everything aside, just the story is excellent. While sometimes I sort of felt like the plot was moving without going anywhere (boo!) the whole thing developed and gave the reader the first real look at what’s up. Shit got real… and I CAN’T WAIT for Allegiant to come out. Everyone talks about the massive cliffhanger at the end of the novel and I never really gave it much thought. I got cocky and thought I had it mapped. Wrong! I never in a million years would have guessed that twist. Roth is so good at keeping the suspense. Even if you think you know how everything is going to wrap up you’re probably wrong. I’m willing to bet big money that’s exactly how it was meant to be.

Anyway, not everything was so good with Insurgent, though. Call me insensitive, but Tris annoyed the hell out of me for basically the entire novel. She went through a lot, but I couldn’t help feeling like she was being extremely self-centered and whiny. I definitely wasn’t taking a seat at her pity party. In fact, if anything made me question my love for this book it was her. I don’t recall disliking her in Divergent, so maybe everything will be fine in the conclusion (to the series). I surely hope so, because I don’t think I can take her anymore if this continues.

Four/Tobias definitely doesn’t get a pass either. He was so dense in this book. I mean… I loved it when he and Tris were all lovey-dovey… but their dynamic this time around infuriated me. I wanted to scream at them to figure things out. I think they could have way sooner than they did if it weren’t for both parties being completely irrational and stubborn. Oh well. I honestly loved all the smaller characters a million times more than the main characters. This is partly due to the above reasons (general annoyance) and because they really are kickass characters.

I’m so stoked over the end of Insurgent so I’ll definitely be picking up Allegiant. As it stands now there’s a lot of open ends in the series and I have no idea how Roth is going to manage tying them all up in one book. I definitely recommend continuing with the series if you’ve read Divergent. It’s totally worth it and oh my god! I’m telling you right now: whatever part your reading, it’s not what you think. Interpret that how you will.

Rating: 4 of 5 stars


Reviews from the rest of the series:
Divergent (#1)

8 thoughts on “Review: Insurgent – Veronica Roth

  1. I *just* got this book (I don’t usually read reviews before the book, so thanks for the no-spoilers approach!) Even though I LOVED Divergent (one of the first books in a long, long time I’ve stayed up all night reading) I can definitely see how the characters could grate against my nerves after a while. But I’m willing to give Book II a go. Fingers crossed!

  2. I really loved the cliffhanger at the end too, and I am so excited about Allegiant! And I absolutely agree, Tris and Four were really annoying me, but I adored the side characters, they had some really great lines too. 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    1. I’ve been seeing a lot of people saying Tris and Four (esp. Tris) annoyed them in this book. Lame! But I think it will be better in Allegiant. So excited!

  3. I just finished Divergent, so I’m hoping to get to Insurgent at some point! It’s a shame that Tris and Four are more annoying in this book, I loved them in the first one, but looking forward to seeing what the twist is – I’m kind of glad I won’t have to wait for Allegiant now!

    1. Allegiant comes out tomorrow! Yay! Anyway, I hope you like Insurgent. It’s worth the read. I mean, Tris and Four are annoying, but it doesn’t make the book terrible. You know what I mean?

Let's chat!

