Stacking the Shelves (26)

Stacking the Shelves (hosted by Tynga’s Reviews) is a weekly meme in which bloggers share the books they buy, borrow, and receive.

sts26-1

Bought:

The Parasol Protectorate (boxed set) by Gail Carriger — I bought this used on Amazon for, like, $12. “Used” is somewhat of an overstatement considering these books are in GREAT condition. I don’t think they’ve ever been read. The box is sort of falling apart, but so what? Buying used things on the internet is always sort of a gamble, but I’m so stoked about the quality of these books. Yay!

sts26-2

sts26-3

Borrowed:

The Captain’s Verses by Pablo Neruda
The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler
Asylum by Madeleine Roux
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green — I’ve actaully already started reading this book and love it so far. I’m about half way through as of now. I swear, it’s all I can think about. I instantly loved it and I don’t want to jinx it… but I think it might already be a new favorite. !!!


Oh man. Today (Friday) was such a long day. My Nana called this morning and said she needed me over at her house ASAP to help her with stuff. I ended up not getting home until 10PM. It’s sort of a bummer because I had things I wanted to do today, but whatever. What can you do?

I feel like I’ve been paying negative attention to the blog lately. I don’t know why… I just haven’t. It not so much choosing not to do anything as it is forgetting. I guess it’s just not on my mind. I need to figure out something for November, though. I know if I can focus on NaNoWriMo my focus on reading/blogging is going to go way down. Is anyone else doing NaNoWriMo? Hopefully you’re more prepared than me. Haha.

24 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (26)

  1. I love The Fault in Our Stars! It’s such a good book. I’ve read Soulless, but I need to get round to reading the rest of the series. Enjoy your books!

  2. Gosh a matching set of Gail Carriger is awesome! Well done for finding that one, I’m glad it arrived in such great condition for you. πŸ™‚ Sorry Friday didn’t go quite how you planned, but it’s nice you got to spend it with family. RE November I haven’t even set up my account yet but I will and this year, finally, I think my dad’s gonna do it too which should be fun. I’ll let you know my user when I’m all set up if I remember. The Dark Between sounds interesting, I’ll watch out for the review. This is the first time I’ve come across the title – the cover on goodreads looks freaky! πŸ™‚

    1. I know! Thank you πŸ˜€

      Yeah, it was fine. It’s always a little rocky being around my family for that long (haha) but it was cool.

      Yeah, definitely let me know when you set up an account. We can be buddies (:

  3. I’ve been wanting that boxed set forever now – it’s even on my Amazon Wishlist!! Let me know how they are. As far as NanoWrimo goes… I was going to participate but I’m entering my 3rd trimester of pregnancy and the tiredness is creeping back up on me majorly, so I think I’m going to sit this year out. Good luck!

    My STS

    1. Yes, absolutely. I read the first book some time ago and really liked it and I’ve read Etiquette and Espionage, so I have a lot of hope for this whole series.

      Oh, yeah, maybe a year off will be good! Haha. I hope the rest of your pregnancy goes well! Get lots of sleep before the baby comes πŸ˜€

    1. I’m really looking forward to reading them all. I’ve read the first, but I’ve been lacking time to continue with the series. I want to when the year turns. (:

  4. I’ve heard such great things about the Parasol Protectorate. I really should read them. And those books are in beautiful condition! So glad you were able to get them used looking brand new.

    I’ve read The Fault in Our Stars, and it’s excellent! Enjoy, good luck on NaNoWriMo!

  5. I really want to read The Fault in Our Stars. I will definitely get to it before the movie comes out. I hope you enjoy all of your new books!!
    Here is my STS!!

  6. Oh lord, TFiOS is so beautiful and soul shattering. And that box set is a great find! I’ve heard great things about that series but haven’t read them yet myself. Enjoy and have a great week!
    My STS

Let's chat!

