October 2013 Wrap-Up

I’ve been thinking about doing monthly wrap-ups for a while, so I’m excited to start this now. Who knows if I’ll actually be able to keep up with it, but for now it’s cool.

I’ve been super absent on the blog lately, I know. Sorry! It was sort of one thing after the other. I didn’t feel like it, then I was hung over from The Fault in Our Stars, and THEN my computer crashed (I talk about that down the page more). November might continue the trend (NaNoWriMo month!), but I’m going to try and get some stuff scheduled in case I’m not reading much or whatever.

Anyway, let’s get this show on the road!
(P.S. All the photos are clickable.)

Reviews Posted:

Fire with Fire Jenny Han Siobhan Vivian American Girl on Saturn Nikki Godwin The Vincent Boys Abbi Glines insurgent

Fire with Fire by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin
The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines
Insurgent by Veronica Roth


Books Read:

Favorite(s):

The Fault in Our Stars John Green Born of Illusion Teri Brown

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Born of Illusion by Teri Brown

Also:

insurgent Anna Dressed in Blood Kendare Blake The Blue-Eyed General Rebecca Inman

Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth
Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna #1) by Kendare Blake
The Blue-Eyed General by Rebecca Inman


Books That Went Back:

(Sent back to the library unread, mostly because I didn’t have the time.)

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle
Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin
How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
The Secret Ingredient by Stewart Lewis


Personal Things:

Just a few days ago I was trying to fix a small problem with my computer and it decided to break even worse. Basically, I couldn’t get past the startup screen no matter what I did. I only had a bare-bones backup, so I lost a lot of stuff. It’s pretty sucky, but what am I going to do about it now? Anyway, it was a good opportunity to update my OS and whatnot, so now I’m running Mavericks and am starting fresh. Hopefully this opportunity will convince me to be more organized. *crosses fingers*

I tried to read The Book Thief this month but it wasn’t happening. I know everyone loves it, but I just couldn’t get into. I haven’t officially quit… but I’ve officially put it on the back-burner. Some people told me to try audio. I’m not an audiobook person at all, but it might be a good idea. I do want to finish it, guys. I do! I think I need a little encouragement, though.

I completely rearranged my room a couple weeks ago and I looove it. It was mostly so I could fit a new bookcase into the mix. Most of my ceilings are slanted (i.e. short), so the wall I put the shelf against is basically the only one I could have put it against. I still have to stack books to get them to fit, but so what? It’s way easier/better than before. I love bookshelves.

NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow and I’m beyond un-ready. I can’t really outline (doesn’t work for me), so there’s that. And my idea well is sort of… dry. Maybe not dry, but whatever. I just wish I had a better idea of what I’m doing. I’ve been writing down some ideas and trying to fit them together for a while. *crosses fingers* Is anyone else participating this year? Let’s be buddies!

Have a good day, everyone 😀

7 thoughts on “October 2013 Wrap-Up

  1. Wow. Of all the people I know in the blogging community, I haven’t seen a lot who actually liked Born of Illusion, and I’ve been shying away from it. I’d really like to know what you think about it.

    I see you had a lot going on. Good luck with your writing. 😀

Let's chat!

