Review: 52 Reasons to Hate My Father – Jessica Brody

52 Reasons to Hate My Father Jessica Brody

Title: 52 Reasons to Hate My Father
Author: Jessica Brody
Publisher: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux
Publication Date: July 3, 2012
Source/Format: Library / Paperback, 368 pages
Opening Sentence: “My father is going to kill me.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

Being America’s favorite heiress is a dirty job…but someone’s gotta do it.

Lexington Larrabee has never had to work a day in her life. After all, she’s the heiress to the multi-billion-dollar Larrabee Media empire. And heiresses are not supposed to work. But then again, they’re not supposed to crash brand-new Mercedes convertibles into convenience stores on Sunset Boulevard either.

Which is why, on Lexi’s eighteenth birthday, her ever-absent, tycoon father decides to take a more proactive approach to her wayward life. Every week for the next year, she will have to take on a different low-wage job if she ever wants to receive her beloved trust fund. But if there’s anything worse than working as a maid, a dishwasher, and a fast-food restaurant employee, it’s dealing with Luke, the arrogant, albeit moderately attractive, college intern her father has assigned to keep tabs on her.

In Jessica Brody’s hilarious “comedy of heiress” about family, forgiveness, good intentions, and best of all, second chances, Lexi learns that love can be unconditional, money can be immaterial, and regardless of age, everyone needs a little saving. And although she might have fifty-two reasons to hate her father, she only needs one reason to love him.

Having read and loved Jessica Brody’s Unremembered I was too excited to check out her contemporary work. 52 Reasons to Hate My Father had been floating through my brain for a while. Add in the interest in a stellar title and people telling me it was good and it’s safe to say I was over the moon to pick this book up.

52 Reasons to Hate My Father has one of the most unique concepts I’ve ever seen/read anywhere. I was expecting this to be a quick, light read (it was), but I was happy to discover that Lexington Larrabee wasn’t just a spoiled brat. There were reasons for the way she was and conflict in her life I wasn’t expecting to get a look into. I have to be honest, at the end of this novel I actually got a little misty because of how sweet it was.

I know the title is a little bit misleading, but Lexington Larrabee goes through one hell of a transformation in the duration of the novel. I actually think that her character arc is one of the most complex I’ve read before. That’s not to say that she had a lot wrong with her and she overcame it or anything like that, but the change in her outlook on life was so radically different by the end of the book. And it was written so well. Like, I can totally see it happening in real life.

At the end of the day I’m not really sure what to say about this book. I loved 52 Reasons to Hate My Father so much. I wish I could go back with a clean slate and read it again like I’ve never read it before. If you like contemporary I definitely, definitely recommend you read this book. It is so good and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

6 thoughts on “Review: 52 Reasons to Hate My Father – Jessica Brody

  1. I’ve heard such good things about this book, but I have yet to read it. Have you seen the book trailer? It’s amazing. It looks like a trailer for a TV series!

Let's chat!

