Top Ten Tuesday (20): Goals for 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish to facilitate list sharing. My lists, as usual, are in no real order. This week’s topic:

Top 10 Goals for 2014:

This is a slapdash list so I hope it makes as much sense as it did when I was typing everything up. Also, there’s obviously more than ten goals. *shrugs*

Bookish:

Read at least 88 books
I’ve been in a massive reading/everything slump since I read The Fault in Our Stars (like I haven’t told you that before) so my usual goal of 100 books was lowered, but I still fully intend to read at least 88 books this year. Why 88, you ask? Eight is my favorite number. That’s all.

Do more discussion-ish posts
This sort of has to do with being lazy, but I post reviews and memes but I don’t usually come up with a lot of original content. It’s not a lack of inspiration, I know that, so I want to follow through with my thoughts and ideas when I have them.

Read a large chunk of the books I already own
I own so many books and most of them are unread. I’ve already made a list of the books I want to read. Now I just need to read them.

Read the entire Harry Potter series
Self explanatory. Don’t know if it’s actually going to happen.

Actually let myself take a break when I need it
I’m not workaholic by any means, but I sort of resist going on blogging breaks or hiatus. A part of me is afraid I won’t come back (even though I love my blog). Mostly the reason I’ve never taken an “official” break is because the moment I say I’m going on hiatus I just HAVE to write a review or post something. It’s like resolving to stop gives me the steam to keep going. That’s fine and dandy, but I don’t want to risk burnout anymore.

Get better at reading and commenting on other blogs
This is another one of those goals I desperately want to work out but never does. I like talking to people, it’s the whole reason I started this blog, but I’m the worst at keeping up with people’s blogs. I’m even worse at commenting. I’m hoping I can turn that around in 2014.

Finish and catch up on series I’ve started
I suck at following through with series. I can count on one hand the series I’ve read completely. Seriously. And believe me, I’ve started A TON of series. (I actually have a post about that going up some time in the near future.)

Schedule posts ahead of time
I actually wasn’t going to add this to the list, but I looked at the clock and realized I probably should. I mean, if I had scheduled this post I wouldn’t typing up this sentence an hour after I aimed to have the post already on the blog. (Sidenote: A big reason I don’t schedule is because I’ve had WordPress just not post my things too many times. Ugh!)

Personal:

Be less antisocial
I’m sure a lot of people use some form of this in their resolutions every year, but I really need it. I have something of an avoidant personality and it’s horrible. Also, I’m really bad at keeping up with people and it’s not doing very many good things for my life. Oops.

Complete my 365 photo project
I’ve tried a 365 project before but I stopped a little after a month in. I really want to stick with this one. flickr / tumblr

Make healthier choices
Another cliche one! But honestly, I want to and need to make healthier choices. I mean, I doubt I’m going to start going to a gym or working out religiously. It’s just not how I am… but I need to stop eating potatoes so often. Hahaha. (But really.)

Start writing again
I just really want to write again. Motivation as of late* = non-existent. *”As of late” is actually referring to literal years. I wish I were kidding.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (20): Goals for 2014

  1. Really? WordPress fails to post sometimes? I don’t I’ve ever experienced that. Or maybe I don’t notice? Scary thought. 😛

    Good luck on your goals. I know I have a lot to work on. 🙂

  2. So your bookish/blogish goals are pretty similiar to mine. I think one of the most important ones is taking a break if you need one. Sometimes all the blogging can’t get a little stressful, and I don’t think it should be since it is for fun, and therefore it is okay to take a break, plus everyone usually gets days off from real jobs so blogging counts too. 🙂 I hope you get to catch up on your TBR pile and read all the books! Good luck in 2014!

    Kay @ It’s a Book Life

    1. It’s super important but definitely something I struggle with. I really hope that all bloggers understand that needing to take a break is normal and pretty much essential to the workflow.

  3. Oh my gosh, reading Harry Potter should be number one. It’s my most favorite series of all time.

    Haha, and I also really need to read the books I already own before I bring any new ones home. But that’s always a goal of mine, and I never seem to follow through. Good luck!!

    1. Yeah, definitely. I’ve read 1-4 and half of 5, but other than that? Nope. I don’t even know why. I consider myself to be a Harry Potter fan… I never said a good one. Haha.

  4. I end up doing more “meme”ish posts rather than reviews as well (and recently, not even that), so one of my goals this year is to post more reviews.

    Good luck reading Harry Potter!

Let's chat!

