Guest Post: Science Bob stops by to talk about Nick and Tesla!

Guys, I’m so excited to share this post with you all! The Nick and Tesla books are super enjoyable and lots of fun to read and I’m happy I got a chance to share them with you guys. Yay! Check out a synopsis for Robot Army Rampage–the second book in the series–below.

nick and tesla's robot army rampage science bob pflugfelder steve hockensmith
Nick and Tesla’s Robot Army Rampage
by Bob Pflugfelder & Steve Hockensmith
Publisher: Quirk Books
Publication Date: February 4, 2014

Nick and Tesla return in an all-new, robot-filled adventure!

When a rash of robberies hits the town of Half Moon Bay, 11-year-old sleuths Nick and Tesla are determined to catch the criminals—but to do so, they’ll have to build a host of new gadgets and gizmos! In this robot-themed follow-up to Nick and Tesla’s High-Voltage Danger Lab, the brother-and-sister duo build four different droids out of ordinary household objects—and illustrated instructions are included throughout the story, so you can build them, too! Make bristlebots that buzz, hoverbots that float above the ground, battlebots that duke it out, and more! Can Nick and Tesla catch the criminal mastermind—and foil his army of rampaging robots—before it’s too late?


Sounds good, no? I can tell you with complete confidence that this book was a blast to read. I’m super excited to read the next book. Until then, I have a guest post for you lovely people from “Science Bob” Pflugfelder, one of the authors!

Guest Post:

In October of 2012 I received an email from author Steve Hockensmith telling me has was working on a new kids series called Nick & Tesla and that his publishers wanted to combine a great kids story with how-to instructions for gadgets that kids built in the book. He also mentioned that the first book would be called, High Voltage Danger Lab. I emailed back and told him, “You had me at the title.” So began the adventures of Nick and Tesla, two eleven-year-old siblings.

I’m a maker, a tinkerer, and always have been. I would build haunted house rides in my basement at Halloween complete with smoke machines, animated skeletons, and a recreation of Dr. Frankenstein’s Lab – all at 9 years old. I built model rockets, 6 foot tall toothpick sculptures, and spy gadgets. I learned magic and made money performing illusions to neighbors. One thing I had little interest in was reading. The process of reading always seemed boring to me, I mean, you just sit there – how much fun could that be? It wasn’t until much later that I learned book are not so bad after all. So I come up with my Nick & Tesla ideas with a young me in mind.

Since the books have come out, I have met a lot of librarians that see the book and say, “I know just the kid for this.” It’s usually the student that loves science, or the student that doesn’t like to read that might be intrigued by the projects. I have heard about after school reading groups that are also working on building the projects, and science museums that carry the books. We have been so happy that folks like GeekDad, The Geek Girls Project, Make Magazine, and dozens of bloggers (thanks, Lisa!) have enjoyed the book and helped get the word out.

Best of all, thanks to Steve’s storytelling and unique brand of humor and I have no doubt that the 4th grade me would have taken a break from rocket building to dive into Nick & Tesla.

6 Random Facts No One Knows About Robot Army Rampage:

– We scrapped a first version of the story that featured large automated robots that attacked people.

– The neighbor in the story Julie Casserly, is a real-life friend of Steve Hockensmith

– We ended up not using one of the robot ideas that has a hand brush as the robot body. (I called him “Volt.”)
science bob volt
– Steve and I have now completed 4 books in the series. We have never met each other.

– The character of Silas has an unofficial fascination with eagles

– The 4th book in the series has one cool multipurpose gadget that Inspector Gadget himself would probably have interest in.


And don’t forget you still have time to enter the giveaway for a set of books from the Nick and Tesla series! (Or, if you’re lazy you can click here and go straight to Rafflecopter. Haha.)

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Science Bob stops by to talk about Nick and Tesla!

Let's chat!

