Review: Just One Year – Gayle Forman

just one year gayle forman

Title: Just One Year
Author: Gayle Forman
Series: Just One Day #2
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Publication Date: October 10, 2013
Source/Format: Library / Hardcover, 323 pages
Opening Sentence: “It’s the dream I always have: I’m on a plane, high above the clouds.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

The heartrending conclusion—from Willem’s POV—to the romantic duet of novels that began with Allyson’s story in Just One Day

After spending an amazing day and night together in Paris, Just One Year is Willem’s story, picking up where Just One Day ended. His story of their year of quiet longing and near misses is a perfect counterpoint to Allyson’s own as Willem undergoes a transformative journey, questioning his path, finding love, and ultimately, redefining himself.

I loved Just One Day and I feel like I’ve been waiting a million years to read Just One Year. But, of course, when I finally got the book from the library I put it off and put it off in true Lisa fashion. And now I feel like that was a mistake.

Because, oh my god, you guys! Just One Year was so good. I will go ahead and say that I did kind of like the first book more, but I still absolutely adored this one. Willem, while not by any means “perfect”, captured my heart. In fact, he is kind of a train wreck, Willem… but I think that’s why I like him. He seems real.

This entire book is one big “OH MY GOD”! I feel like I got jerked around in so many different ways. Several times I went back to the first book for comparison and just wanted to scream. Just One Year is by no means a “thriller” or “suspense” novel, but I feel like I was being wound up in suspense the whole time. Life, I tell you guys. Life.

Poor Willem went through so much in this book. In regards to Allyson, yes, but also when it came to other aspects of his life as well. Though he made a good show of it, his life was really way less awesome than it seemed at first, and that is touched on (and in some respects, concluded) in this installment. Like in JOD, Willem too goes through a growing process, making this book all the more fantastic. I adored that it wasn’t just about Willem and Allyson’s relationship.

Did I like Just One Year? Well, I think I kind of loved it. I can’t wait to buy my own copy and push it on everyone I know. Gayle Forman has such a wonderful and impacting way of writing. I can’t wait to see what else she pulls out of her mind.

Rating: 5 of 5 stars


Reviews from the rest of the series:
Just One Day (#1)

6 thoughts on “Review: Just One Year – Gayle Forman

  1. Yesssssss. I loved this book so much! I loved seeing Willem’s story because we get to love him that much more. It wasn’t what I was expecting at first, but I’ve got to say that it was a very pleasant surprise. Great review!
    -Marianne

    1. It was different from what I was expecting too. It was good though. I was afraid I wouldn’t like it as much as the first book, but it delivered. 😀

  2. I’m so glad you loved it! I actually really enjoyed the journey and YES, the suspense!!! I think I was mildly disappointed with the ending and was really put off by it, but I’ve finally made my peace with it!

    1. I’m actually not really sure why people disliked the ending so much. Is it because there was this big buildup and then not much written with them together again? Or something else?

Let's chat!

