Review: My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick

my life next door huntley fitzpatrick

Title: My Life Next Door
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Dial
Publication Date: June 14, 2012
Source/Format: Library / Hardcover, 394 pages
Opening Sentence: “The Garretts were forbidden from the start.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

My Life Next Door has been on my radar since, like, the first day I started blogging. From the very beginning I saw people gushing about this book left and right and I wanted to see what all the hype was about. And let me tell you: it lived up to the hype. I super duper enjoyed reading this one.

Going into this book I was expecting a quick, light, fun read. Those traits were definitely present, but there was so much more as well. Right on the cover it says “A Secret” but I never guessed what that secret would be. I was reading and thought “It should say ‘a bunch of secrets’.” because there is a lot going on. THE secret, though… man guys. It’s a big one. I feel like I’m getting into spoilery territory so I’ll stop this train of thought.

Another part that I was really excited to experience was, of course, the romance. I hear Jase this, Jase that, Jase, Jase, JASE. And now I know why. Jase is one of those swoony boys that seems absolutely obtainable because he is realistic. He isn’t perfect and neither is his relationship with Samantha. Not to mention his super eccentric family! I loved them all. They were kind of crazy but in a good way. It’s a party you want to join.

I don’t know what to say, you guys. If you haven’t read My Life Next Door I hope you’re just waiting for it to come in the mail or something. This is one quality contemporary and a book you’ll start thinking about randomly during the day. Prepare to fall in love. That is all.

Rating: 4 of 5 stars

7 thoughts on “Review: My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick

  1. I don’t think I was around during the hype of this book, or I didn’t notice. I’ve been seeing this book at the bookstore though and I never really picked it up. Now I have a reason to do so. It looks like something I’d love. 🙂

  2. I read this one awhile ago. I definitely liked it, although not as much as a lot of other people did. I LOVED Jase and Samantha. I think my favorite part was definitely Jase’s family. But I didn’t care so much for the Secret. It was a little too much for me. I’m glad you liked this!

Let's chat!

