Waiting on Wednesday (28): Great

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

great sara banincasa

Great
by Sara Benincasa
Publication Date: April 8, 2014

In Sara Benincasa’s contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, a teenage girl becomes entangled in the drama of a Hamptons social circle, only to be implicated in a tragedy that shakes the summer community.

Everyone loves a good scandal.

Naomi Rye usually dreads spending the summer with her socialite mother in East Hampton. This year is no different. She sticks out like a sore thumb among the teenagers who have been summering (a verb only the very rich use) together for years. But Naomi finds herself captivated by her mysterious next-door neighbor, Jacinta. Jacinta has her own reason for drawing close to Naomi-to meet the beautiful and untouchable Delilah Fairweather. But Jacinta’s carefully constructed world is hiding something huge, a secret that could undo everything. And Naomi must decide how far she is willing to be pulled into this web of lies and deception before she is unable to escape.

Based on a beloved classic and steeped in Sara Benincasa’s darkly comic voice, Great has all the drama, glitz, and romance with a terrific modern (and scandalous) twist to enthrall readers

I love The Great Gatsby and I’m preeetty sure you all know that, so it should come as no surprise that I’m super excited for this book. I’m pretty sure I’m not going to love it as much as I do TGG–because nothing can replace that book–but I’m definitely looking forward to Benincasa’s take on the novel. Eee!

9 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (28): Great

    1. I haven’t either! That’s why I was so stoked when I found out about this one. I’m hoping I’ll be able to find more retellings of TGG. 😀

Let's chat!

