Life of a Blogger (1): Camping AKA The Very First Post!

Life of a Blogger is a weekly meme hosted at Novel Heartbeat. It lets me be conceited without seeming conceited. (Kidding! Kinda.)

Hi guys! So I’ve been doing Top Ten Tuesday posts waaay less lately and I wasn’t going to replace that meme with another, but then I realized this babe of a meme existed. And then? Well… I’m writing this post so I bet you could guess what happened. I’ve been looking for a meme that’s more personal for such a long time. SO LONG. So this is kind of perfect for me. Yay! Let’s get to know each other πŸ˜€

This week’s topic: Camping

Man, I haven’t been camping in a long time. I think it’s probably been something like four years at least since the last time. I like nature, but I’ve only really been camping like four or five times, give or take. Not because I don’t want to, but because it’s sort of a big production. My family and the people I know aren’t really get-up-and-go-ers for a variety of reasons.

The last time I went camping was with my high school BFF and her family. I went a couple times with them and it was totally fun. The camp site they favor is right next to a beach (just over the sand dunes), which was new for me. I had never been camping near the ocean before. Lakes, rivers, and streams? Sure. Never the ocean. It was pretty fun, even if I froze my poor, unprepared booty off during the night. I do recall sitting around the fire one night after most of us had gone to sleep and listening to Bohemian Rhapsody on the radio. My friend’s uncle was singing along quietly and the rest of the camp site was silence. I really like that memory.

There is another time coming to mind from when I was a teenager and pissed off that Mother and Co. was making me miss a concert I really wanted to attend to go camping. I took a blank notebook with me and drew pictures and wrote notes to my BFF the whole time. By the end of it I admitted that I didn’t actually have a bad time. This was also the same time I lost my camera memory card in a river and diligently when on a search for it all to save one photo that I was very proud of. (Photo to the right.) Obviously I got the card back.

Whew! I kind of talked Β a lot there, didn’t I? Sorry! But yes, that is me + camping.

What about you?

10 thoughts on “Life of a Blogger (1): Camping AKA The Very First Post!

  1. Oh my gosh, that sounds like so much fun! I’ve NEVER gone camping before. I’d love to camp by the ocean. I love the ocean, it’s the place where I feel at peace the most. I’m afraid of mosquitoes though, but I’d really like to give camping a try! Great post! πŸ˜€ And I agree, I love this meme too! ❀

  2. I love camping! It’s a big deal for my family, they’ve always been travelers, so it’s been great I got to be raised as a traveler too :). I don’t get to go camping often, but the whole family camps down on a remote beach in Baja ever New Year’s. It’s my favourite part of the year! This year I set my camp so close to the ocean that at high tide it came up to about 5 feet in front of my tent hahaha…I am lucky it didn’t go any farther or I would have been swept out to sea in the middle of the night! So beach camping is the most normal for me, actually although I’ve had my share of rivers and lakes as well. It looks like you had a lot of fun!

    1. Oh my god, I would freak out if I were that close to the water. Then again, I’m not the strongest swimmer. Haha. It sounds like fun, though. Totally an adventure being that close.

  3. I LOVE camping. We used to go all the time when I was a kid and my fiancΓ© is very much an outdoorsman and camping has always been a big part of his life. I LOVE going to more remote places and we’ve taken quite a few trips to Wyoming, which I loooove. I’m glad you didn’t hate it πŸ˜‰ I also think it really depends with the people you go with! Camping for me is very much about atmosphere and that goes for people as well scenery/camping spot.
    YAY CAMPING haha πŸ™‚

    1. It DEFINITELY depends who you go with. Luckily most of the times I’ve gone camping were good. I’m particularly fond of just sitting around the fire with people not really talking or anything. So peaceful. The atmosphere is everything. I would love to go camping this summer. Hopefully you and your husband can too! πŸ˜€

  4. I’m like you, I haven’t been camping in FOREVER. It’s such a shame because I really do love it. It always feels so much more peaceful and calm. I feel like now that I’m in London I need to go camping even more. Peace! Relaxation! Pleeaassseee! lol.

    Love that you’re doing this meme by the way. Nothing wrong with TTT, but it’s always nice to get to know more about other bloggers πŸ™‚

    1. Haha. Aw. I can definitely see how being in London will make you need to go camping or do something not so loud and social. From what I hear London is bustling. Lol.

      Thank you! I stopped doing TTT because it was stressing me out, but this meme seems like it will be a nice change. πŸ˜€

Let's chat!

