2014 Reading Slump Blues… And Trying to Fix It

What can I say, guys? I’m just going to jump right into it.

The past four-ish months haven’t been kind to me as far as reading is concerned. I feel like I’ve been in a slump more than not since November (so much so that I went on a blogging hiatus!)… And I don’t really know what to do about it. I’m starting to feel like this is just how it is now. Am I past my “reading prime”?

On the other hand I have suspicions that it’s not so much a reading slump but mere distraction. During the last few months I have been reading, it’s not like I haven’t read anything at all, but it’s weird. I’ve disliked more books than usual, but there’s also the case of books I like. I like them, right? But I don’t feel like reading them. When I do eventually get myself to read I like them again and enjoy myself.

That said: Am I just getting distracted by other things like movies, TV, and the Internet? Yes, I totally am, but I need to know if it’s the main problem or a side effect of not wanting to read.

It’s Thursday. Tonight I am going over to my brother’s place for the weekend to pet sit and watch my nephew while my brother and his fiancé are on vacation. And guess what? I’m cutting myself off from the Internet. I’m not taking my computer with me and I don’t have a cell phone, so that’s whatever. They have a computer there, but I’ll just resist. They also have TVs and cable… but I primarily watch Hulu, so I’m hoping that won’t be a problem. I’m more worried about the temptation of video games. I’m going to attempt to ignore it all.

Maybe if I give myself reading time I’ll fall back into love with the actual process of reading. And if I don’t? I’ll know it’s a slump and not distraction.

Anyway, this is getting long. I’m taking these books with me when I go.

2014readingslump

I tried to give myself some variety instead of just straight YA novels, though those are great. I’m also bringing my Kindle, which has a few eARCs I need to read and Brooke, the novella that takes place after Through the Ever Night.

So yeah! I’m not expecting one weekend to pull me out of this jam I’m in. I’m just hoping it might send a spark flying. I have a couple posts scheduled for the weekend, so hopefully those actually post. (ALWAYS having problems with that.) I’ll see you guys on Monday!

4 thoughts on “2014 Reading Slump Blues… And Trying to Fix It

  1. Ugh. Reading slumps are the worst! I often get distracted by TV, but I always go to bed about an hour early (where there is no TV) to read before going to sleep. I hope one of the books you have with you will be the cure. I’m sure you’ll find your way out.

Let's chat!

