Review: Under the Never Sky – Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky Veronica Rossi

Title: Under the Never Sky
Author: Veronica Rossi
Series: Under the Never Sky #1
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: December 4, 2012
Source/Format: Personal Library / Hardcover, 374 pages
Opening Sentence: “They called the world beyond the walls of the Pod ‘the Death Shop.'”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered.

This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland–known as The Death Shop–are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild–a savage–and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile–everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

Guys! Hi! I finally read Under the Never Sky. I didn’t even try writing a normal review, but instead did it in list format because my thoughts aren’t gluing together. These aren’t in any particular order. Onward!

  • Woah! I didn’t realize how much went down in this book. Reading it was super fun and entertaining, but it’s so easy to not pay attention to how much is actually going on. After I finished I looked back and was just flabbergasted at how much Aria and Perry had been through and how much time really did elapse. Oh man.
  • I knew from the very beginning that the sky was basically made up of Aether (I mean, it’s called the “Never Sky” for a reason), but I didn’t realize the people in the story had special senses. Not special senses, technically, but significantly sharpened senses. It sort of came as a shock to me… but not a bad one. I feel like I should have known it, honestly. (Don’t worry. That sounds like it should be a spoiler, but it’s not.)
  • Aria was not the annoying heroine that I thought she was going to be. I mean, a couple times I was like “Suck it up!”, but I was also fully aware that if I were put in those situations I probably wouldn’t suck it up either. Aria was a powerful character and I like that. I don’t mean powerful like “Oh, she can beat someone up!”… but more of a mental power. She just doesn’t give up. She has a lot of willpower. I like that a lot.
  • I really liked Perry as well. It really stuck with me how vulnerable Perry was. On one hand he was this physically big, strong guy who could scare just about anyone out of their pants… on the other hand he was caring and self sacrificing and also completely unsure about life. Also, he cried at least twice in this book, which was refreshing. It proves that a character can be a badass and also not completely emotionless.
  • Science! I love it when books use science to their advantage, and this one certainly did. I can’t really elaborate without spoiling it for people who haven’t read the book. Just… science.
  • SKIP THIS PART IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK YET!!

  • How did Aria know Perry can’t read? Like, was it something she just sort of picked up on? That’s all fine and dandy, I’m cool with that, but there wasn’t really an explanation. At the beginning Perry thought something about not wanting her to know he never learned to read and then later in the story Aria thought something about Perry not being able to read. But there was never any connecting thread. He never told her and she never had an Aha! moment. Unless I missed it? Someone let me know.
  • OKAY, YOU CAN LOOK AGAIN NOW

    So yeah. If it’s not obvious by my scattered review: I thoroughly enjoyed reading Under the Never Sky. It was kind of the full package as far as books go and I’m glad I read it finally. One bad thing is now I’m not really that pumped to read the next book. I want to, but I don’t feel any particular rush. Nevertheless, I definitely recommend this one. It deserves the hype. Let’s hope the rest of the series stands up to that.

    Rating: 4 of 5 stars


    Reviews from the rest of the series:
    Through the Ever Night (#2) — COMING SOON!

    8 thoughts on “Review: Under the Never Sky – Veronica Rossi

      1. Yeah, I found this one definitely worth it. It’s little challenging not to be affected by all the hype, but it worked out okay for me. I hope you like it too!

    1. I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages now, but I think your review was the final kick that I needed! 🙂 I’m going to read it next after finishing with the one I’m currently reading. Hehee, so excited now for Under the Never Sky!

    2. Yay yay yay I’m so glad you liked this book! I actually think the series just got better from this book and I loved how much it established in book one. I LOVED the abilities. I thought that was such a great addition and not just a sci-fi/dystopian world!
      I was just a bit annoyed by Aria for a while but really looking back, I didn’t mind because it’s amazing to see how much she grows not only in this book but also the series! 🙂

    Let's chat!

    