Review: Ink – Amanda Sun

ink amanda sun

Title: Ink
Author: Amanda Sun
Series: Paper Gods #1
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: June 21, 2013
Source/Format: Library / Paperback, 369 pages
Opening Sentence: “I made it halfway across the courtyard before I realized I was still wearing my school slippers.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she can barely hold a pair of chopsticks, and she can’t seem to get the hang of taking her shoes off whenever she enters a building.

Then there’s gorgeous but aloof Tomohiro, star of the school’s kendo team. How did he really get the scar on his arm? Katie isn’t prepared for the answer. But when she sees the things he draws start moving, there’s no denying the truth: Tomo has a connection to the ancient gods of Japan, and being near Katie is causing his abilities to spiral out of control. If the wrong people notice, they’ll both be targets.

Katie never wanted to move to Japan—now she may not make it out of the country alive.

**NOTE! I WROTE THIS “REVIEW” LIKE A YEAR AGO RIGHT AFTER I READ THE BOOK. IT’S ALL MIXED UP AND NOT NECESSARILY ACCURATE ANYMORE. I THINK IT’S IMPORTANT TO SHOW HOW I FELT AT THE TIME, TOO, SO HEREYAGO!**

To be completely honest, I’m not too sure how I really feel about Ink by Amanda Sun. I was initially drawn to it because the concept is super cool—drawings that come to life? How cool is that?!—and it takes place in Japan. While I was reading, though, I found myself rolling my eyes a lot and generally just having trouble getting through the book. It wasn’t the story, but the execution. I can’t even figure out how to explain it. I’m afraid I was swayed by what other people were saying, though. If I hadn’t known what some people I follow think about it would I have liked/disliked it more? I can’t be sure. The thing is: after I finished reading it I found myself wanting more of the world. I think I started liking it more after I stopped reading it. It grew on me as time passed. I really do like the idea so I’ll definitely be waiting for the sequel to come out, just maybe not as excitedly as possible. I don’t know if I was expecting a lot from Ink and felt disappointed or if it was something else, but I’ll use this as a lesson in keeping my mind open while reading.

UPDATE: I don’t know what was going on with me when I wrote that review, but I don’t feel quite the same way anymore. Those feelings are still there, of course, but I remember liking Ink more than I think I realized. The story is fantastic and I’m super excited for the next book. Woo!

Rating: 2.5/3 of 5 stars

5 thoughts on “Review: Ink – Amanda Sun

  1. Ink sounds so cool! Japan and drawings equals awesome
    Glad you’ve come to like the book more now, happy reading!

Let's chat!

