Review: Dangerous Girls – Abigail Haas

Dangerous Girls Abigail Haas

Title: Dangerous Girls
Author: Abigail Haas
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: July 16, 2013
Source/Format: Library / Paperback, 400 pages
Opening Sentence: “Shots! Shots! Shots!”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…

Wait, what. I mean… WHAT?

I’ve heard so many great things about Dangerous Girls. And not even just from random people on Goodreads, but also people I talk to. Obviously I wasn’t going to pass up this novel.

Mystery is definitely not my favorite type of book to read, so I was wary coming into a book that is most definitely a mystery and spends a lot of time in a courtroom. I wasn’t disappointed though! Dangerous Girls is a book that just drew me in. I didn’t feel particularly compelled to keep reading, but I would fly through 100 pages and not realize I did it because it was interesting.

I don’t really want to talk about my feelings about the book because I’m afraid I’m going to spoil it. I see no way to talk about it without talking about it completely. I’m still somewhat confused. The ending lets you know the gist of the situation, but it still leaves a lot up for interpretation. That’s fine, but not for me. I like my books, especially mysteries, to lay things out for me completely and this one didn’t. That’s why it lost a star.

Anyway, I feel like I’m about to start saying too much. Would I recommend the book? Yup! But be prepared to be jerked around. This is nowhere near a happy story. But you already knew that, didn’t you?

Rating: 3.5-4 of 5 stars

5 thoughts on “Review: Dangerous Girls – Abigail Haas

  1. Sounds intriguing, I get what you mean. I love mystery novels but it really bugs me when they have vague endings, I’ve spent a whole book feeling slightly confused, I need closure at the end! Glad you still enjoyed even though it wasn’t a genre you usually like! 🙂

    1. Absolutely! Closure is so important. Otherwise you leave the book always wondering. I know some people like that, but it drives me crazy. Hahaha.

Let's chat!

