Review: Hung Up – Kristen Tracy

Hung Up Kristen Tracy

Title: Hung Up
Author: Kristen Tracy
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: March 4, 2014
Source/Format: Library / Hardcover, 282 pages
Opening Sentence: “This is Lucy calling to update my order BKE-184.”
Author Website | Goodreads | Amazon

Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of a wrong number gone right.

It all started with a wrong number. The voicemails Lucy left on James’s phone were meant for someone else—someone who used to have James’s digits. But then when James finally answers and the two start to talk, a unique bond forms between the two teens.

Gradually Lucy and James begin to understand each other on a deeper level than anyone else in their lives. But when James wants to meet in person, Lucy is strangely resistant. And when her secret is revealed, he’ll understand why…

How to explain about a book told completely in phone conversations… I’m just going to be super honest.

I wasn’t as impressed with Hung Up as I wanted to be. The idea was refreshing and cool and I had high hopes, but it fell very short. I was actually somewhat bored reading the book.

Just to get it straight: Hung Up wasn’t bad…. Reading it was easy and fast, but at one point I looked back and realized I had already read half the book. Cool, awesome. But what I said was, “But I feel like nothing has happened.” And really that’s how the whole thing is. The main characters bicker a lot (ugh) and sometimes talk about serious things, but I didn’t care at all about either of them or where they were going. The conflict was interesting but even that came too late and almost felt like it was just smacked in there because the story needed substance.

I really hate when I don’t love books I was looking forward to, but I can’t pretend I liked this one when it was just okayish. 😦

Rating: 2 of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: Hung Up – Kristen Tracy

  1. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy this one, I felt like this with Jennifer E. Smith’s The Geography of You and Me, cute and easy to read and all, but when it came to actual plot, well.. the plot was kind of non-existent. And yeah it sucks when books your looking forward to don’t meet expectations, the format with the phone calls does sound pretty unique though!

    1. The phone call format is exactly what made me want to read this book. I don’t know though. It was sort of dull, I guess. Maybe it’s just me. I still haven’t read The Geography of You and Me, though I’ve been meaning to. I had it from the library when it first came out, but I couldn’t get into it. Maybe sometime later. haha.

Let's chat!

